We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

great b&b everything you could want. clean lovely rooms, good breakfast and very nice staff. I wont be staying in chester again but can recommend for those who are, very good value for money, near hungry horse if you want to eat out at a good price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandraelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Chester House Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at The Chester House Guest House for three nights in July. When we booked we were looking for accommodation within walking distance of the city centre and somewhere my husband would feel happy parking his motorbike, The Chester House fulfilled these requirements. The city centre is about 15 mins walk and there are places to eat much closer as well.
We received a warm, helpful welcome on arrival. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very good. Our room was comfortable and of adequate size but not huge. The ensuite, although clean was rather shabby.

Room Tip: Our room was in an outbuilding with no outlook, not a problem if you are out all day, but if you wan...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maloak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the Chester House Guest House for one night with my partner and another couple of friends during our short visit to Chester.
The B&B owners were very friendly and helpful on arrival and we were able to check into our rooms at noon, which was pretty good (as most hotels say 2pm onwards). The rooms were a good size and the beds were very firm - just how I like them! There were extra pillows provided, should they be needed, and a fan which was a very welcome extra on this occasion!! I was also happy to discover the power shower in the ensuite! There was a lovely large sized LCD tv in our room. The one in the other couples room was much smaller, but we weren't really there to watch tv anyway!
It was about a 15 minute walk into Chester City centre, but it only cost £4 for a taxi into the city in the evening, which was pretty fair.
At breakfast there was a good selection if cereals and hot choices on offer and plenty of tea, coffee, juice and toast. Very pleased overall. Good value for money! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Warm welcome, small and friendly. Owners attentive but at the right level. Property is an old house but was still in a good condition.I stayed for 2 nights in room 3. Despite the warm nights it was quite a cool room. There was a fan available though if needed. I was so relaxed wanted to stay longer. Nice breakfast included in the price. Been a solo traveler I choose to still have a double room which i'm glad I did. It was clean and comfortable Yes the bathroom and the shower are not the biggest (I read this in another review) but it was fine nothing wrong at all. The location Hoole Road was not in the town centre, but by taxi the most I paid was around £4.80, to various locations to and from Chester house. It was quick and easy to reach or if feeling energetic could be walked, also a bus service is available from the lower bus exchange which if your shopping or on the wrong side of town is a bit much. There is a Hungry Horse pub 2 minutes away so it was handy for an evening meal at a reasonable price. Various small branches of banks if needed are near by. Chester has a lot to offer and nearby places mean that you are based in Chester but also have opportunity to see Liverpool and North Wales. Good all round trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed hear for one night, the room was good and bed was beautiful. I have never stayed in a bed that was so big plenty of room for those who try and even take up most of the room. Breakfast was delicious and excellent customer service, the waitress couldn't do enough and was extremely helpful and pleasant. Our welcome was very straight forward and simple, although at times felt like was at school as was being talked down to which was uncomfortable. Overall good stay and location was good with parking onsite which was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickHoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in room 6 from the Monday to the Thursday and had a pleasant stay. We paid extra for the bigger room and it is well worth doing as the room was big and the accommodation was spotless. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and served by lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome. The guest house is about 30-40 minutes walk from the main shops but there are buses available outside and there is a pub further across the road on the right called the Hungry Horse where you can get meals all day. The menu suits everyone and is reasonably priced. There is parking in the front of the guest house for five cars which was great as we left the car and just walked everywhere. Our hosts were very helpful and pleasant. Would recommend this to couples of families as their accommodation will suit all. So check out their Facebook and have a look for yourself. First time visiting the area and would definitely go back again. Lovely little place to stay in!!! Your effort and hard work is much appreciated.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a bigger room, worth the extra money
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pryde164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First class service with plenty of smiles,will book again next time we are anywhere near Chester.
Easy to find and easy access to parking
Good advice on parking and trips around Chester from owners
Wonderful break helped by guest house

Room Tip: try the superior room in the annex lovely comfy bed ,very quiet excellant 10 star breakfast
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing