We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had two double rooms, room 1 was spacious and very comfortable. Room 2 was smaller and a bit cramped for a big fellow like me in the bathroom. The beds were lovely and a good night's sleep was had by all. Breakfasts were appetising, good choice and very good. The service and politeness of the staff was exemplory and we thoroughly enjoyed the two nights stay. If ever we need to visit Chester again and need a very good B & B - I have the number for Chester House and they will be the first call. Great value for money and an enjoyable experience. Pity about the rain. Well done to the proprietors.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 if a double is required, or ground floor if for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    120
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
77
268
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013.
Liked it - and thought it offered good value for money.
Easy walking distance to town center.
Parking good.
Quiet and undisturbed sleep.
Bed excellent and very comfortable.
Clean - very clean.
Best point - the owners and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Negative points. Wifi weak if you stay in a room outside of the main house (as we did).
Breakfast just average - choice is okay but ingredients could be better (particularly the sausages and the hard muffins but heigh-ho it does not claim to be 5 star and you certainly do get value for money).
Bathroom a little on the small side (but clean, plenty of hot water and the shower was excellent).
Desk but no suitable chair to use so could only work at the desk if pulled desk out and used the bed as a seat (irritating but not insufferable).

On balance - recommend. Worth it for the friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Pick the main house if wi fi needed in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-Til-Miffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a modern, comfortable B&B, well located if you are travelling with your own car. We arrived quite late (around 9PM), but it was not a problem, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We got the ground floor room, which was huge. It had three beds and could comfortably sleep a family of four. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was clean and spacious. There is free WiFi and the breakfast in the morning was very good. We also had a free parking space, which was great. I would certainly recommend this B&B. I certainly felt that the value was excellent, given the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

great b&b everything you could want. clean lovely rooms, good breakfast and very nice staff. I wont be staying in chester again but can recommend for those who are, very good value for money, near hungry horse if you want to eat out at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandraelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at The Chester House Guest House for three nights in July. When we booked we were looking for accommodation within walking distance of the city centre and somewhere my husband would feel happy parking his motorbike, The Chester House fulfilled these requirements. The city centre is about 15 mins walk and there are places to eat much closer as well.
We received a warm, helpful welcome on arrival. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very good. Our room was comfortable and of adequate size but not huge. The ensuite, although clean was rather shabby.

Room Tip: Our room was in an outbuilding with no outlook, not a problem if you are out all day, but if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maloak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the Chester House Guest House for one night with my partner and another couple of friends during our short visit to Chester.
The B&B owners were very friendly and helpful on arrival and we were able to check into our rooms at noon, which was pretty good (as most hotels say 2pm onwards). The rooms were a good size and the beds were very firm - just how I like them! There were extra pillows provided, should they be needed, and a fan which was a very welcome extra on this occasion!! I was also happy to discover the power shower in the ensuite! There was a lovely large sized LCD tv in our room. The one in the other couples room was much smaller, but we weren't really there to watch tv anyway!
It was about a 15 minute walk into Chester City centre, but it only cost £4 for a taxi into the city in the evening, which was pretty fair.
At breakfast there was a good selection if cereals and hot choices on offer and plenty of tea, coffee, juice and toast. Very pleased overall. Good value for money! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Warm welcome, small and friendly. Owners attentive but at the right level. Property is an old house but was still in a good condition.I stayed for 2 nights in room 3. Despite the warm nights it was quite a cool room. There was a fan available though if needed. I was so relaxed wanted to stay longer. Nice breakfast included in the price. Been a solo traveler I choose to still have a double room which i'm glad I did. It was clean and comfortable Yes the bathroom and the shower are not the biggest (I read this in another review) but it was fine nothing wrong at all. The location Hoole Road was not in the town centre, but by taxi the most I paid was around £4.80, to various locations to and from Chester house. It was quick and easy to reach or if feeling energetic could be walked, also a bus service is available from the lower bus exchange which if your shopping or on the wrong side of town is a bit much. There is a Hungry Horse pub 2 minutes away so it was handy for an evening meal at a reasonable price. Various small branches of banks if needed are near by. Chester has a lot to offer and nearby places mean that you are based in Chester but also have opportunity to see Liverpool and North Wales. Good all round trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing