We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having read all the high scores for Chester House we were very disappointed. Room was clean and tidy, No shelf in the bathroom so all our toiletries had to go near the floor on the box covering in the pipes. The only toiletries provided were 2 x shampoo & a small soap. The breakfast was normal, not 'exceptional ' as has been stated in some reviews. On arrival once reception had taken our money, they disappeared.! It was surely evident to them that we were all senior citizens-one of our party being in his eighties. No one asked if we required any help with getting our suitcases to our rooms. we had to struggle to get them up a very steep flight of stairs unaided by the staff. On leaving I cut my finger very badly when loading the car, but when we asked for a plaster or dressing we were told they couldn't find any.!!! I was of the impression that in any establishment like this, a first aid box was compulsory.!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us here at Chester House, I have to admit to being quite surprised at the review made. I note from the rooms that you stayed in that one does have a shelf, however the other has a bathroom cabinet with shelves inside, so I dont understand why this wasn't used for toiletries as there is more than enough space.
As to the complimentary soaps & shampoos, having only booked one night, and stayed only one night, I'm not quite sure how many of these you would of required, but as mentioned in the guest information pack in all rooms, more toiletries are available, if the staff are asked!
I am sorry to hear of the incident in the car park where bandages may of been required, but unfortunately due to Health and Safety, the staff are not permitted to give these out to residents for allergy reasons, so unfortunately this was the case at the time.
I am sorry that you felt breakfast wasn't too your tastes, however as you mentioned yourself, it is commented on alot and praised by many a past customer.
It is a shame that you didn't enjoy your one night stay, but, it is also a shame that nothing was mentioned to any of the staff, who could of helped & advised at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    119
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
77
266
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our main reason for visiting chester being to go to the zoo. So this guest house was perfect for us as it was only 6 minutes away in the car to the zoo. I'd take a guess that it's about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Chester however the weather wasn't great while we were there so we didn't actually venture out that far, but it didn't matter because really we didn't need to. There are plenty of places nearby to eat and drink if like us that's all you need. But I'm sure there's plenty more to see and do in the not so far away centre. We were really impressed with the size of our room and it's facilities and it was very clean and tidy. The breakfast each morning was lovely. Really friendly staff that we're welcoming and polite. We would definitely stay here again if we ever visit chester in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missjpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us, i have passed your kind words on to the staff.
As you mentioned the Zoo is about a 5/10 minute drive, but have free parking there so we do advise this is the safest option for our customers, rather than walk the busy main road, however they do run a regular bus service from Chester Railway station.
We are so glad your enjoyed your visit and you had a relaxing and comfortable stay, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Friendly helpful staff . Thier is plenty of parking on the rd outside and on the nearby streets if you don't get into the 5 space on the drive. The bnb is clean inside with nice period features along with some tired looking chipboard furniture in the room . The beding was very clean along with the towels .The Cooked breakfast was fine for me but my girlfriend would of appreciated fruit or yogots . The most expensive bnb I've stayed in but not the best .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here with us at Chester House, sorry to hear that you found us over priced for the weekend in question, however for a Chester Race meet being held that weekend, we were actually selling rooms well below the average in and around the City.
As you can imagine Chester gets extremely busy and all hotels, including ourselves being a small family run business, higher the rates to cope with such huge demand. Normal weekend rates for a double room range from £85-£90.
With regards to breakfast, it was a shame that non of this was asked upon us serving you, we do have fruit on the menu, but obviously this cant be to everyone's tastes, but we try to cater to cover all. however if this had been bought to our attention during your 2 nights, we would of been more than happy to provide a breakfast you wanted, we are here to look after you and make your stay as comfortable as possible and more than happy to go out of our way to meet customers needs and tastes.
We certainly hope this doesn't put you off visiting the lovely City or ourselves in the future, and again thank you for your feedback it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very nice room in the annex with a king bed. Spotlessly Clean, well prepared, with all the niceties. Nice bathroom. Lovely breakfast. Energetic, courteous, hospitable staff. Parking directly in front, off the street.

15 min walk to Cathedral and town center. Bus service is also convenient. Multiple options for dinner very close by.

We will stay there again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: #6 was excellent and on ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
It was lovely to read your comments after your recent stay with us at Chester House, im so glad your enjoyed your break with us.
The newly refurbished rooms 6&7 which of one you were allocated are very comfortable and being on the ground floor is very convenient for some of our customers, the reaction from them has been very positive, so I am pleased you liked the rooms.
Chester City is as you mentioned about a 15.20 minute walk, with the buses running regularly from just around the corner every 12 minutes, which is very handy, when returning with all your shopping bags!!
Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Loved staying at Chester House, and it felt very much like home for our four night stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious, and served in such a lovely dining area. Lizzie and Helen were way beyond helpful, printing out schedules and fielding phone calls for us, as we were naive enough to travel without cell phone or tablet.
Aside from Chester itself, there is a great little street with pubs and shopping just two blocks away. It reminded us of Coronation Street. The Tuesday night 2-4-1 pizza at the pub there is well worth the trip!

Room Tip: Our room facing the busy Hoole Road was a bit loud, but the view of the church and sound of church b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillyphylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review after your recent stay with us here, it was lovely to meet the both you, during your travels.
The local eateries as mentioned do have some wonderful offers which can be enjoyed during the week, all within walking distance from us, but for a more varied choice we recommend lots of places in the City, to which only a taxi ride is about £3.50 or a pleasant walk at 15/20 minutes.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope you enjoyed you time in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed in the Annex and the rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. Handy bus stop to the centre of Chester. The staff were very helpful when we had to call the car hire company (hired car broke down in their car park). Excellent breakfast in the morning ... we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuelwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank for your recent review and kind comments on your recent stay with us, the annex room allocated is one of the two rooms we have recently refurbished and have been quite a hit with customers, so it was lovely to read your comments about them also.
As you mentioned the bus stop is seconds away around the corner and they run every 12 minutes, which is really handy then have to worry about parking cars.
So glad you enjoyed your time and hopefully we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great place to stay, very friendly and helpful staff. The room and ensuite was clean and well-equipped. Very tasty breakfast. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk to the centre of Chester but their is a very handy bus stop around the corner. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words after your stay with here at Chester House, it was lovely to read that you enjoyed your time here, and i have passed your comments on to the rest of the team.
It is a mentioned about a 15/20 minute walk to the centre of the city, but with a bus stop located just round the corner, where they run every 12 minutes it is very convenient just to hop on to the centre.
Thank you again, and hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing