We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Chester House Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stay at Chester House Guest House”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Super, friendly welcome. Our family room on the ground floor was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Delicious breakfast and excellent service. Would definitely recommend to families and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TannD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review on your stay with us here at Chester House, it was our pleasure to be have been able to look after, I'm glad that you were comfortable in our family room, and you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    121
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
78
270
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmesfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were welcomed on arrival, after payment we were taken to our spacious room on 1st floor. It was comfy and clean, bathroom with power shower. Breakfast was tasty and was offered extra tea,coffee toast etc. The walk into the town was 15mins, but the house is on a bus route or many taxis available. Would stay here again on return visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for you review on your recent stay here at Chester House, it is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you were comfortable.
The city is about a 15 minute pleasant through Hoole, as you mentioned we do have a bus stop around the corner where buses run every 12 minutes which is really handy for such a quick journey.
Thank you again for your kind comments, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

From the moment we were welcomed my daughters felt at home. The family room was a good size on the ground floor away from other guests. This is definitely a bonus when you have 'enthusiastic' children! Breakfast was delicious and a relaxed experience. I would definitely recommend this guest house to families, particularly young teens. It is ideally situated to visit the zoo, the designer village and central Chester.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words after your recent stay with us here at Chester House, it was lovely meeting you and your family during your 3 nights with us, and a pleasure to have looked after you all, glad the girls enjoyed the shopping!!
Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a lovely Guest house very clean and a lovely breakfast was provided every morning. Hoole Road is the main road into Chester its about a 20 min walk into town but we found the bus stop just around the corner every 12 mins into town. Would definately recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAZ033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments after your recent stay with here at Chester House, it was a pleasure to have you stay and so glad you enjoyed your time here, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having read all the high scores for Chester House we were very disappointed. Room was clean and tidy, No shelf in the bathroom so all our toiletries had to go near the floor on the box covering in the pipes. The only toiletries provided were 2 x shampoo & a small soap. The breakfast was normal, not 'exceptional ' as has been stated in some reviews. On arrival once reception had taken our money, they disappeared.! It was surely evident to them that we were all senior citizens-one of our party being in his eighties. No one asked if we required any help with getting our suitcases to our rooms. we had to struggle to get them up a very steep flight of stairs unaided by the staff. On leaving I cut my finger very badly when loading the car, but when we asked for a plaster or dressing we were told they couldn't find any.!!! I was of the impression that in any establishment like this, a first aid box was compulsory.!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us here at Chester House, I have to admit to being quite surprised at the review made. I note from the rooms that you stayed in that one does have a shelf, however the other has a bathroom cabinet with shelves inside, so I dont understand why this wasn't used for toiletries as there is more than enough space.
As to the complimentary soaps & shampoos, having only booked one night, and stayed only one night, I'm not quite sure how many of these you would of required, but as mentioned in the guest information pack in all rooms, more toiletries are available, if the staff are asked!
I am sorry to hear of the incident in the car park where bandages may of been required, but unfortunately due to Health and Safety, the staff are not permitted to give these out to residents for allergy reasons, so unfortunately this was the case at the time.
I am sorry that you felt breakfast wasn't too your tastes, however as you mentioned yourself, it is commented on alot and praised by many a past customer.
It is a shame that you didn't enjoy your one night stay, but, it is also a shame that nothing was mentioned to any of the staff, who could of helped & advised at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our main reason for visiting chester being to go to the zoo. So this guest house was perfect for us as it was only 6 minutes away in the car to the zoo. I'd take a guess that it's about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Chester however the weather wasn't great while we were there so we didn't actually venture out that far, but it didn't matter because really we didn't need to. There are plenty of places nearby to eat and drink if like us that's all you need. But I'm sure there's plenty more to see and do in the not so far away centre. We were really impressed with the size of our room and it's facilities and it was very clean and tidy. The breakfast each morning was lovely. Really friendly staff that we're welcoming and polite. We would definitely stay here again if we ever visit chester in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missjpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us, i have passed your kind words on to the staff.
As you mentioned the Zoo is about a 5/10 minute drive, but have free parking there so we do advise this is the safest option for our customers, rather than walk the busy main road, however they do run a regular bus service from Chester Railway station.
We are so glad your enjoyed your visit and you had a relaxing and comfortable stay, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Friendly helpful staff . Thier is plenty of parking on the rd outside and on the nearby streets if you don't get into the 5 space on the drive. The bnb is clean inside with nice period features along with some tired looking chipboard furniture in the room . The beding was very clean along with the towels .The Cooked breakfast was fine for me but my girlfriend would of appreciated fruit or yogots . The most expensive bnb I've stayed in but not the best .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here with us at Chester House, sorry to hear that you found us over priced for the weekend in question, however for a Chester Race meet being held that weekend, we were actually selling rooms well below the average in and around the City.
As you can imagine Chester gets extremely busy and all hotels, including ourselves being a small family run business, higher the rates to cope with such huge demand. Normal weekend rates for a double room range from £85-£90.
With regards to breakfast, it was a shame that non of this was asked upon us serving you, we do have fruit on the menu, but obviously this cant be to everyone's tastes, but we try to cater to cover all. however if this had been bought to our attention during your 2 nights, we would of been more than happy to provide a breakfast you wanted, we are here to look after you and make your stay as comfortable as possible and more than happy to go out of our way to meet customers needs and tastes.
We certainly hope this doesn't put you off visiting the lovely City or ourselves in the future, and again thank you for your feedback it is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing