We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Made to feel very welcome, good clean and comfortable room with the offer to correct anything that wasn't right. Lovely breakfast. All very efficient. Very handy location for our destination with parking available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelEllis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay here with us and thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased you both felt welcome here, we hope to see you again the next time you are visiting your friends here in Chester.

Many Thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New management 2014)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Felt very welcome breakfast lovely and although new owners only took over few days ago and are in middle of updating rooms it didnt disturb us at all. Some fitments in our room were a bit dated (shelving in bathroom) but all there clean and working otherwise room was decorated to a high standard. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoandMickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Chester House Guest House it is very much appreciated. We're both very happy that you felt welcomed here, and you are already planning a return visit with your family. As you mentioned we were in the midst of updating some of our rooms, we are pleased to say that all the refurbishments are now complete and I am sure you will appreciate the new look rooms on your next stay. See you soon.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New management 2014)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay in Chester House Guest House. We were welcomed with a bottle of fizz. Our room was very clean and tidy and nicely decorated. Breakfast the following morning was delicious. We would definately stary here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisianaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Chester House Guest House, the very first guests for the new management team for 2014. We're glad we made you both feel welcome here and you enjoyed one of Bryan's fabulous breakfasts! We hope to see you both again soon.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New management 2014)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed two nights late November. Staff welcoming and helpful on arrival and at all other times. Room was clean and comfortable and a good size. Bed was great as it was a king size. Stayed in the main building looking out the back so no road noise. Hoole road very busy during day but does quieten down during the evening. Breakfast was good and plentiful with plenty of toast, tea and coffee available. A lovely stay if just a little over priced. However it is Chester and price was comparable with most properties in this area. Would stay again. 20 min walk to Chester city center

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was a lovely guest house - the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the owners/staff very friendly and helpful. They even got in apple juice just for me as I can't drink the standard orange juice, and cooked me a delicious vegetarian breakfast. The room was a good size, with plenty of space for everything, full facilities (free WiFi, tea & coffee, big TV etc). The en suite bathroom was decent (although it could use a shelf in the shower for bottles etc). When we needed a taxi one evening they kindly called us one. The rest of the time we got around by bus, which was easy & explained to us in advance (what buses, from where etc). The hotel is very well placed for the city centre and the station. I would happily go back here again in future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherTaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visited Chester for 2 nights and stayed at the Chester guest House. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and were able to offer advice and arrange a taxi. Only a twenty minute walk into the town centre, however because of rain on the Friday we played the taxi card. The rooms were well equipped warm and comfortable, full English was delicious. We would definitely recommend this guest house when visiting the Chester area. The nearby Falconer pub served a great meal as did the El Gato Negro At The Blue Bell in the town.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the road but no noise issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Went here for Friday and Saturday night. Very clean and tidy. Huge bed and very comfy. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice and we were offered more toast, coffee etc. Just a short walk into Chester centre, but on the way down walked into Hoole village and what a lovely little place with some really nice quirky shops and bakeries cafés etc. So if you go don't forget to look at Hoole. Would stay at Chester House Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centralg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Villa Chester
Stone Villa Chester
#2 of 76 in Chester
1,144 reviews
1.2 mi away
80 Watergate Street
80 Watergate Street
#1 of 76 in Chester
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £58 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing