We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were made very welcome by Lisa and Bryan who also gave us helpful tips about where to go in Chester for eating, drinking and sight seeing. The room was comfortable and had all we needed and the breakfast was pretty fine too. What I really liked was the relaxed and friendly hosts - that can make all the difference and I'd certainly recommend this place to stay as it's easy to get into Chester as well as Hoole with all it's local conveniences.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate it very much. It is so nice to hear that we made you both feel comfortable here. We hope your big day went well. Hope to see you and your wife on your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan ( New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    120
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
77
268
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lisa and Bryan were very nice and helpful during our stay in Chester, the breakfast was lovely it set us up for the day, they gave us advise where to go which helped us a lot especially when we went to Chester zoo, our room was lovely and clean and bright. the one day Bryan baked a ginger cake it was nice and tasty we thought that was lovely of them, we would recommend the Bed and Breakfast to our friends.

Room Tip: room 2 it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review, it was very kind of you. We're glad to hear that you both enjoyed your stay here, and your day at the zoo. We do hope to see you again, on your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan ( New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

decided to have a couple of days at Chester ,on looking for places to stay we came across said property so booked over the internet and found prompt replies to our enquiries
the price was very reasonable and the hospitality was brill. room was on the second floor but not a problem getting to, we stayed in room no. 4 which had a super kingsize bed and ensuite of good quality, the following mornings breakfast was to our requirements not just here's your breakfast get it eaten.
Overall it helped make our stay at Chester a delightful experience and it was only approx 10mins walk from the city centre so you could leave your car at the guesthouse and not worry about the problems of parking .
thanks again to our hosts.

from Tony & Julie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, it really is very much appreciated. We're glad we made you both feel welcome, we do aim to make all of our guests feel comfortable here. We would love to see you both again on your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Loved our stay here over Easter visiting family. I know Chester well, I am from there originally so knew it would be extremely convenient. Nothing too much trouble, even got the ginger cake to die for. Bryan and Lisa were top hosts and deserve to do fantastically well, we will certainly return before the end of the summer. Value for money 100%. Booked tickets for us with discount for Chester zoo, could not have done more. Thank you and see you again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 at the back on the ground floor, fabulous big bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. It really was a pleasure having you stay here with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you when you are next visiting your family.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This guest house is about 10 minutes walk from the city centre and station. Hosts, Lisa and Bryan were very friendly and gave us some nice ginger cake and also a curly wurly when we checked out. Room was clean and quiet and suited us fine. Breakfast was really nice and set us up perfectly for a day of walking around Chester. Near to the guest house is a road with some nice pubs, cash points and late night supermarkets. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, they really are very much appreciated. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here with us in Chester. We hope to see you again.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great service. A very warm welcoming. Great sparkling clean rooms. A great breakfast, fills you right up for the day ahead. A great range of food and drinks. Very nice, kind and polite people that are very easy to get along with. That was my second time that I have been. This is the only place that I will stay if I go to Chester again. Love the rooms, people and place. They knew the place well so they told me where to go for food and sites to see. Great place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KieranTurner317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay here with us again, it really was a pleasure to have you both here. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed Bryan's fabulous breakfasts, Hopefully we will see you both again very soon for your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here back in February and we loved it both times! We got room number 1 (you're lucky if you're in here its amazing!) - the bed was super comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it.. Luckily I did because the breakfast was absolutely delicious - Bryan cooks an amazing breakfast. The shower in room 1 was a jet shower and it had different settings it was great, had a heater in the bathroom so never got to cold, great size bathroom also. The room was extremely tidy and we had plenty of leaflets etc. which were extremely helpful. Bryan and Lisa were very helpful and extremely friendly and welcoming - they helped us out a lot. Great distance from a lot of places which they recommended to us. We had fab weather and they suggested a walk around the river which was amazing. Extremely helpful and had an amazing week. Can't wait to come back at the end of summer.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - especially front room top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay here with us again, it was lovely to see you return so soon. We were happy to help you regarding where to eat locally and how best to make the most of your visit to Chester. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing