We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Guest House!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a lovely place to stay in Chester! The Guest House is situated just outside of the city center, and although I was already familiar with the city, it is about a 10/15 minute walk into the edge of the city and a straight road there. However, the owners, Bryan and Lisa, did ask on check-in if we were familiar with the area and had prepped a fantastic welcome brochure, so for anyone unfamiliar with the area has plenty of information at hand.

Bryan and Lisa were incredibly friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome and at home. The room was very clean, tidy with some lovely little touches (welcome homemade gingerbread - delicious!). Breakfast was delicious. I myself opted for cereal, with a good range on offer (muesli, bran flakes, cheerios etc.) and my partner went for the vegetarian breakfast which he found absolutely delicious (and actually included sausages!). All breakfasts were brought promptly, and the owners even offered extra's that weren't on the menu.

It is clear that Bryan and Lisa have a passion for what they do and their enthusiasm and friendliness is wonderful. A lovely guest house and I would highly recommend this to anyone and would happily return the next time I visit Chester!

Thank you for a wonderful and welcoming stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, it really was a pleasure to welcome you both here. We hope you recovered well after your fantastic achievement, completing the Chester half marathon, well done! We hope to see you both again next year.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    121
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
80
271
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent my first visit to Chester at Chester House guest house and couldn't of wished for a better place to stay. The owners Bryan and Lisa greeted me with a friendly welcome and seemed genuinely pleased to have me stay in their home,they showed me to my room and nothing was too much bother for them. I was staying in the single annex room which tho small was much bigger than I expected as I've stayed in much smaller places, ( mainly in London ). The room was extremely clean and very peaceful and even tho the entrance is outside it was very safe and secure. Breakfast was amazing and well cooked by Bryan, I wanted to try some of the different options but had the full english on day 1 and enjoyed it so much I had to stick with it for rest of my stay. The location of Chester House is ideal for visiting chester, it is a 10 minute walk down Hoole road into the Town and if raining as it was on my second day you can catch a bus just around the corner. Chester itself is a wonderful city, I was well impressed! I was at the races on day 1 and would recommend it to anyone interested in a day at the races, it's one of the best courses I've been to. The cathedral at height tour is also well worth the £8 entrance, fascinating insight into the cathedrals history and wonderful views, would also highly recommend a tour of the walls walk, which leaves from the visitor information centre next to town hall, the heritage bus tour is also very good. Overall I'd recommend a visit to Chester for anyone who likes historic cities or any budding race goers. If you do plan a visit make sure Chester House is your place to stay, you won't be disappointed. Thanks again to Bryan and Lisa for a great time, as Arnie says " I'll be back"!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay here. We do appreciate all of our reviews however not all guests give such an insight into Chester itself, so thank you very much for that. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great place to stay for Chester. Convenient, able to walk into the centre of Chester, or to use the train station. Friendly owners, lovely rooms, delicious breakfast and ginger cake in the rooms - brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelmburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your time in Chester and would love to see you both the next time you visit.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a great place to stay! From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, Bryan and Lisa made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. The annex room we had was roomy and very clean throughout. Breakfasts were made on time and exactly as ordered (well done Bryan) and no request seemed too hard.
Having been in the hospitality industry for 37 years I would love to bottle their passion for their business and their customers - it was simply outstanding. I will have no hesitation to recommend Chester House Guest House to anyone and my wife and I will definitely be back.
Thanks Bryan and Lisa for a great time.

Room Tip: We stayed in an annex room as we thought a larger room would be good for us. We didn't see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very very much for your kind words, it really is nice to know that we have made your stay here such a pleasant one. It was lovely to meet you both. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday, and we will hopefully see you next year.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan ( New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Let me start by saying that Lisa and Bryan put this B & B in the 5 star category by being welcoming, friendly and very good at what they do. They are genuinely nice people and obviously have a talent for making guests comfortable. The house is a very pleasant Victorian (I believe) that is well-located - walking distance or a short bus ride to Chester town centre, or a short walk to the shops and restaurants in the village of Hoole. Our "annex" room was compact, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and well furnished to make us feel at home. We received a little tin of delicious gingerbread cake on arrival, and Bryan's breakfasts were excellent. This is a very, very nice B&B in its own right, but the wonderful hosts really seal the deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoGal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, we are genuinely touched by your kind words. It is very nice to know that we made you feel comfortable here, hopefully if you return to Chester we will see you again.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan ( New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We only stayed here for one night but were very impressed with the way our hosts ran things. Our welcome was genuinely friendly, our room lovely and cooked breakfast perfect. This is an excellent B & B.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over a lovely old church. Bryan and Lisa sent us to a great pub for dinner and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for such a kind review, it really is very much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you both, even it is was quite brief. We do hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and the rest of your holiday. Hopefully we will see you again if you return to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan ( New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were made very welcome by Lisa and Bryan who also gave us helpful tips about where to go in Chester for eating, drinking and sight seeing. The room was comfortable and had all we needed and the breakfast was pretty fine too. What I really liked was the relaxed and friendly hosts - that can make all the difference and I'd certainly recommend this place to stay as it's easy to get into Chester as well as Hoole with all it's local conveniences.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate it very much. It is so nice to hear that we made you both feel comfortable here. We hope your big day went well. Hope to see you and your wife on your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan ( New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester House Guest House Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing