We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veg ? Wafer thin meat”

Toby Carvery Hoole Village
Ranked #261 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hoole Village. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Chester's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great veg ? Wafer thin meat”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Been few times before always good, the veg piping hot plenty to choose from, the meat cut wafer thin 2 slices great if your a vegetarian. Commented, young man serving very rude. Service lovely waitress smiley happy at all times, place friendly just disappointed with the carvery.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    126
    83
    62
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food! Great staff!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Haven't been for a while,nice sunny day so thought would take drive to carvery...was quite busy..food great,staff very friendly and attentive. This is one of the best Toby's we have been to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“creepy”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I visited the carvery on Tuesday 7th with a disabled lady I care for.
We go quite often, however, this occasion has put us off.
By the time I had arrived back at table with meals there was a man who had Sat at the next table, we sit at the top when it is quiet, by the front door.

He then proceeded to set up a tablet whilst eating his meal and skyped a woman in America, discussing how well he was trimming his beard, amongst other off putting discussions.

We were so appalled that we did not finish our meals.

I complained to who I believe is the manager.
He said that I am not the first person to complain about him, yet there are only so many times they could have a word with him as he is obviously not listening.
This was not an acceptable answer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Excellent Quality Food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Another visit and yet again an excellent experience from Management to the excellent waiting staff at front of house are brilliant! Food is as you would expect, an excellent quality selection of roast meats and a wide variety of Veg! The roast potatoes seem to get better every time!

Returning soon for another very enjoyable meal, even when it's busy it's worth it! I wish all Toby Carvery's are as good!

Helpful?
Thank Shevavironxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not inspiring”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We ate breakfast here because we were staying in the travelodge, it was convenient and could be accessed by means of a corridor directly from the travelodge. The cooked breakfast was self serve but the food had been laid out some time before and although on a heated system was luke warm. For our second and third mornings I just had toast. The breakfast was reasonably priced but then the coffee was extra at (if I remember correctly) £1.99 a cup, drink as much as you like, which is fine if you want to drink several cups of coffee which we didn't.
On all three mornings of our visit to this carvery staff were cleaning the restaurant area, not just the tables but general cleaning. This is somewhat off-putting when you are trying to eat. Yes, these places have to be cleaned and it's good to see them being cleaned but not at breakfast time. If we stay in the travelodge again we would either bring our own breakfast, as we often do, or catch the bus into Chester and eat in Wetherspoons. The options on the carvery menu for breakfast were limiting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Hoole Village also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hoole Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing