We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
T
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Went here last night with two friends the food was outstanding and teh servcie excellent would defo return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcepcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    256
    84
    46
    28
See reviews for
143
564
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My sister and I went here last Monday for afternoon tea. We had never been to Oddfellows before and found the place quirky and gorgeous. I had bought a voucher for afternoon tea with a glass of bubbly. Good value for money, staff were excellent as we did not like one of the selection of sandwiches and it was quickly replaced with an alternative. Also the tea is meant to be served after 2.30pm but on that day we were struggling for time and the restaurant served us at 1pm no problems. We asked about the rest of the building and were even shown round the function rooms and the bar by a member of staff, I am trying to think of a reason to have a party here. We had a great time and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bababoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanuwchllyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

4 of us ate here yesterday evening. We had pre-dinner drinks outside in a cosy heated tent and were able to catch the tail end of a fireworks display that was held elsewhere-lovely. The service was flawless-the waiters were very friendly and effcient. Food was fantastic with decent sized portions. The presentation of the food was beautiful; We split the bill between the 4 of us, which came to £37 each-this included a 3 course meal and half a bottle of white wine. I was more than happy to pay this amount. Will definately return The only negative is that the music was rather loud as the bar was next door with lots of people out drinking on a Saturday night. It didn't really bother us as we are a bunch of twentysomethings but it may have been a little distracting and off putting for older people or for those who want a quiet romantic meal out

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angharad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at oddfellows after we got married the previous weekend and the staff went out of their way to make our stay fantastic & very special. The difference at this hotel is that all staff are incredibly friendly and personable and will go
Out of their way to make your stay perfect!
We had dinner in the restaurant one night, what an experience - the food was exceptional. Would certainly recommend to those who enjoy fine dining!
Afternoon tea was also delicious - the cakes and scones are served just warm - a sign of complete freshness!
Breakfast is also very reasonable and the pantry where it is served was a great experience in itself.

I would totally recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a different, boutique style hotel, for special occasion or just pure indulgence. This hotel has it all. The rooms are fitted out to a very high standard and a great place to relax.

Another thing I loved was the toiletries - they smelled divine!

We will be back - thanks for everything you did for us!

Jen & Mark, the newlyweds! X

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

room fab, staff very happy and helpful, live band great but the food mmm loverly would go back on shopping trip especially to eat!

Room Tip: stayed in room 2 yhe double shower was gorge and very powerful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights (Fri/Sat) for the last flat race meeting at Chester this year, check in was great although we had to unload our car at the front door and then drive a few hundred yards to an NCP car park (pricey!), after that we checked in quickly and were shown to our room up about four flights of stairs!
Room was great and very different from we normally go for (floor creaky and slanted) which kind of added to the atmosphere, just wish it had been haunted too.
Bathroom was modern and good, with a large roll top bath and a walk in shower.

Unfortunately our experience with restaurant was less than enjoyable due to the restaurant being booked for a private function or closed, none of which we informed about when we booked or arrived at the hotel. We were told we had a table in the downstairs bistro, our table was in the bay window and felt like we were in the street, additionally extra tables were being placed in the bistro to accomodate other diners making it over crowded/cramped. The next problem was the menu, rather than the full menu we had viewed online we were given a limited race day menu which did not cover half the meals on the main menu. After finishing our starters and having another table jammed in next to us we decided to cancel our order and go elsewhere, the restaurant manager was very apologetic and sincere and had a bottle of wine sent to our room, which was a very nice touch and appreciated.
Due to the private functions in the hotel and the lack of signs for toilets, we had visitors to our room during the night wanting to use the bathroom, at about 12.30-01.00am (the third time) time of hammering on our door I'd had enough and thankfully me nearly wrenching the door of it's hinges and my barrage of abuse finally got through and we were left in peace for the rest of the night. I did inform the hotel of this little problem on checking and they said they install signs on the stairs to the private accomodation.
Overall the hotel & staff were fantastic (except for the drunks wanting our loo) but the restaurant was a let down this time, saying all that we'll probably go again in the future hopefully.

Room Tip: Check the restaurant is open............
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trubby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife & I stayed here on Friday evening and we're really impressed by the boutique styling of this hotel and the friendly staff who just couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons. The location is right in the heart of all the best restaurants and bars and very convenient for all the shops. We had read that noise may be a problem but it was hardly noticeable in room 4 and certainly not worth a mention. Once you've sampled the delights of the oddfellows bars down stairs and the outdoor areas at the rear you'll be simply blown away by the atmosphere that it suceeds in creating for you to enjoy. Their in house DJ was great and we loved the music. This isnt a nightclub but it has a late licence so the music continues until 2am. There is plenty of space both inside and out with lots of seating and tables. We sat outside in the gorgeous beer garden and never felt crowded. It said in some reviews that this is the place to be seen and we agree. Get your best togs on enjoy. We will certainly be back. As a final note, the breakfast! WoW! Simply the best we've ever had. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nine877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing