We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Having booked Oddfellows well in advance of our stay we were phoned four days before we were due to arrive to say that our room was double booked and there was no room for us. i can't say how disappointed we were and when I inquired, to two different members of the so called management, as how this oversight had happened i was told that "if i had listened in the first place that they didn't know how it had happened and then "not to play one another off against each other" I decide this was not the place for us after all. If this is how they treat you before you even arrive God knows what teatment you get when you are actually there.
Don't touch it with a barge pole

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank janton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

Wonderful hotel, has the wow factor but unfortunately some of the staff did not meet the expectation one would have for such an establishment. On arrival struggled with several flights of stairs as we felt awkward accepting the offer to carry our bags by the young lady who showed us to our room. This would be a massive problem for anyone with a disability as there is no lift. The room was very trendy, however we quickly discovered that the toilet had not quite been cleaned properly - eww. Not wanting to make a fuss, we did not complain. This would change by the end of our visit. Lighting in the bedroom was no where near sufficient for anything but chilling, almost impossible not to have a Bridget Jones make-up moment as there was not a suitable place to do make-up or hair. No counter space in bathroom either.
Reception staff friendly and helpful - HOWEVER-we returned from our night out to have last call in the hotel bar. All was fine and well until the music was switched off as all of a sudden we felt very unwelcome even though we were residents. We were told gruffly by 3 different members of staff that we were not allowed in certain areas of the hotel until we pointed out that we were residents. This made us feel very awkward. To top it all off as we began to go upstairs to our room we were stopped by a very rude bouncer who demanded "Where do you think you are going?" To which we replied that we were residents and was there some other way we should go to our room? To which he simply shrugged and gave us a dirty look and permitted us to pass. What a sour end to a lovely evening. Breakfast server was extremely disinterested and we could go on and on but lets just say it should definitely be a mandatory requirement that staff be thoroughly trained in customer service excellence. Quite disappointed that after sharing our feedback with the person at reception upon check out, there was an apology but no offer of a gesture of goodwill such as discount off next stay or reduction in our room rate for that night. She was very polite, although said that no one else seems to complain, but did not seem to go the extra mile as we do in our own business. 50/50 chance of a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

In todays world where everything is homogenised and your "hotel experience" is the same wherever you go, it's positively jaw-dropping to come across a hotel that manages that most difficult of tricks; being unique without being clever-clever, "kooky" or "quirky".
Oddfellows is a magical place, where every room has its own character and the staff are without doubt the most friendly and professional I've come across.
To call Oddfellows a hotel is slightly misleading however- at present it only has four rooms (but 2012 will bring 14 more). But what rooms! Ours had double baths, timbered roof, a TARDIS sized shower (bigger on the inside than it looks) and a bed big enough for a netball team.
There are dining rooms for parties (and for dining) and two bars, both of which are sumptuously decorated and an outside area complete with Bedouin-style tents.
The restaurant is small, but again, beautifully designed and the food was outstanding. I had the lightly curried batter cod, thick chips and mushy peas, which was the best fish'n'chips I've tasted, while my wife had a delicious slab of plaice. Again, the service was exceptional.
The following morning, we had breakfast in the "Breakfast Room" which is actually a separate cafe which has a delightfully off-kilter feel. Everywhere you look is a point of interest.
But I think the biggest recommendation I can give is this; we had but one night and one morning in Chester, one of the UK's most beautiful cities. We checked into Oddfellows at 5;30pm; we didn't leave the building again until we checked out at 11am the following day. How many hotels can you think of that you would actually prefer to stay in than go out and experience the glorious city outside? Myself and my wife - mainly through work- have stayed in many hotels in many cities. Oddfellows, along with Tinakilly House in Ireland, is one of those rare cases where everything....just....works. But for God's sake don't tell anyone - it'll be our secret, OK?
R Easter

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, but pay a few quid extra for the King Suite. It's gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Went here last night with two friends the food was outstanding and teh servcie excellent would defo return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tcepcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My sister and I went here last Monday for afternoon tea. We had never been to Oddfellows before and found the place quirky and gorgeous. I had bought a voucher for afternoon tea with a glass of bubbly. Good value for money, staff were excellent as we did not like one of the selection of sandwiches and it was quickly replaced with an alternative. Also the tea is meant to be served after 2.30pm but on that day we were struggling for time and the restaurant served us at 1pm no problems. We asked about the rest of the building and were even shown round the function rooms and the bar by a member of staff, I am trying to think of a reason to have a party here. We had a great time and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

4 of us ate here yesterday evening. We had pre-dinner drinks outside in a cosy heated tent and were able to catch the tail end of a fireworks display that was held elsewhere-lovely. The service was flawless-the waiters were very friendly and effcient. Food was fantastic with decent sized portions. The presentation of the food was beautiful; We split the bill between the 4 of us, which came to £37 each-this included a 3 course meal and half a bottle of white wine. I was more than happy to pay this amount. Will definately return The only negative is that the music was rather loud as the bar was next door with lots of people out drinking on a Saturday night. It didn't really bother us as we are a bunch of twentysomethings but it may have been a little distracting and off putting for older people or for those who want a quiet romantic meal out

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank angharad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at oddfellows after we got married the previous weekend and the staff went out of their way to make our stay fantastic & very special. The difference at this hotel is that all staff are incredibly friendly and personable and will go
Out of their way to make your stay perfect!
We had dinner in the restaurant one night, what an experience - the food was exceptional. Would certainly recommend to those who enjoy fine dining!
Afternoon tea was also delicious - the cakes and scones are served just warm - a sign of complete freshness!
Breakfast is also very reasonable and the pantry where it is served was a great experience in itself.

I would totally recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a different, boutique style hotel, for special occasion or just pure indulgence. This hotel has it all. The rooms are fitted out to a very high standard and a great place to relax.

Another thing I loved was the toiletries - they smelled divine!

We will be back - thanks for everything you did for us!

Jen & Mark, the newlyweds! X

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenmark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,497 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £100 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing