We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Birthday Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
desert_rose10
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Birthday Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here earlier this week for my fiance's birthday and really enjoyed it. I got a great deal on Late Rooms and opted for the Newbrook room which, complete with a 360 degree round bed, was absolutely great. They seemed to have thought of every little detail and we especially loved the Nespresso machine in the morning. The staff were friendly and welcoming - I'm only sad we didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant. My only complaint was the takeaway breakfast (a bag is delivered outside your door with orange juices, apples and a small pastry), which when considering the cost of the room, it would have been nice to have received a full size croissant at least. We still felt quite hungry afterwards.

All in all, it's a great boutique hotel and we would definitely visit again for another special occasion.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank desert_rose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    249
    81
    42
    26
See reviews for
133
551
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Have been here several times with my partner & had a gorgeous meal usually washed down with great choice of wines. On my most recent visit i had "use the cubicle" bit of the toilets ( if you know what i mean!). The first toilet was that heavily soiled in matter i almost threw up & the 2nd had no lock do there i was in the middle of Chester with a huge problem. I have never experienced this ever in my life in a 5star establishment & shows a clear lack of attentiveness to very basic issues. This is very off putting for diners too who should expect a higher standard of hygiene when paying huge amounts at such a venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelobsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I had our wedding reception at Odfellows on the 4th August and it was the best day of our lives by far.

The venue was absolutely perfect and the staff had gone to great lengths to ensure everything was just how we wanted it laid out. The wedding breakfast was delicious, as was the buffet in the evening.

All staff were very attentive and helpful and delivered food and a bottle of champagne to our room for us which was a pleasant surprise.

Oddfellows has gone through a recent renovation which has made it even better. It is a quirky venue with lots of nice touches that you don't always spot immediately. The secret garden is superb and there are lots of interesting photo opportunities in the hotel.

We booked the four older rooms on the top floor and they were great. These rooms have lots of character and are beautifully decorated.

We were overjoyed with Oddfellows as our wedding reception venue and would highly recommend it. We will be visiting Oddfellows more often to try out the menu and reminisce over our perffect day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay040812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Guest Relations Manager at Oddfellows, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Congratulations again! We hope you see you again on your one year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Wow!!! Superb treat for myself and my girlfriend. Amazing boutique/bespoke interior design, cool secret garden and whole experience and hotel service, friendliness and cleanliness-perfect 10/10!! Would definitely recommend to others, already have done and will definitely return and have a spa next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz_c22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Guest Relations Manager at Oddfellows, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please keep an eye on our website for more exciting offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I just spent two nights at Oddfellows Chester whilst visiting friends, after reading all the comments on trip advisor I felt compelled to write on here as it seems that management at Oddfellows haven't learnt by their mistakes! On check in the staff were really unhelpful and didn't give us any information about the hotel, i.e. breakfast options if any, the front door being locked at what time etc so we had to find this out for ourselves! Also on check in they wanted to pre authorise a enormous amount of money, I expect a credit card to be taken at most hotels but not a preauthorisation of nearly £500 for two nights, I refused and then just had to pay up front for the room charges.

We stayed in a classic double, it's very well decorated like most of the hotel, but very snug and the beds are too small for two large adults, the bathroom doesn't have a separate door, it's a shared shower door and bathroom door, which is a good space saving idea but slightly uncomfortable in terms of privacy and hygiene in my opinion. The air conditioning was rubbish making it extremely hot in the room, this for me was the worse issue, as it prevented me from sleeping along with the soft mattress dipping in the middle massively. We had been travelling all week so had a lot of baggage and there is no lift or on hand help with bags so we had to also do this all ourselves. In all I thought this hotel was over priced, they seemed to have spent all their money on furnishings and decoration instead of staff training and fundamentals like comfort for your guest are out the window, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to others there are better options for the same price in Chester.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mancheaster england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

No information given wene checking in,which meant we got locked out of the hotel at 10.30.after continually pressing the door bell for 10 minuets one of the bar staff let us in.
There was no apology ,and they looked at us as if it were our fault.
No breakfast was delivered to our room as ordered, and then wene we mentioned this to reception again no apology , we were handed a paper bag with a banana and a very small pastry.This is not what we expected from a 5 star hotel.
We had a terrible night sleep,the air conditioning in the room was very poor,and we had already been moved once,as the air con didn't work in the first room.
I also found it very strange that they asked to take £150 off my credit card for any breakages.This was a first for me, after staying in many hotels over the years I can't recall ever being asked this before.
On checking out we were not even asked the question, how was your stay.
All in all a disappointment ,and unfortunately would not choose to stay here again.
Great location though.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are far to stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Guest Relations Manager at Oddfellows, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Teresa
Thank you for your comments. I would like to discuss your stay further, if you could please contact me on 01244 895700 I would be gratful. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

A friend and I booked a room for 2 nights at Oddfellows as a girls shopping treat, mainly using it just as a base to come and drop bags off at between shopping jaunts, however as we loved the room and hotel so much we spent both mornings lazing around instead of spending money. The quirkiness of the secret garden, decor of the bar, wallpaper in the rooms and style overall had us enthralled. The hotel kindly upgraded us to a duplex suite that was magnificent and there was help by staff to bring bags up to the room as there wasn't a lift in our part of the hotel. The breakfast bag in the morning was welcomed and although we didn't eat in the restaurant, the food coming out of the kitchen all looked wonderful. 
If you have an opportunity to stay in this hotel, take it!

Room Tip: We were in room 16 and it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenVeilhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Guest Relations Manager at Oddfellows, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you again, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing