We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Everything about Oddfellows is special. it is located in the town centre so was perfect for our break. The beds are comfy and the rooms are a home from home and are equipped with everything you need from a nespresso machine through to champagne glasses - and there's nurofen in the drawer to purchase if you have a hangover! We especially loved the Roberts radio in the room. Designer touches everywhere. Staff are friendly, smiley and helpful. The bar was busy on the Friday night with a good atmosphere and the cocktails are delicious. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debblarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    268
    89
    49
    28
See reviews for
153
602
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Ok, I wasn't paying the bill, so this review is about the hotel and service. I can't comment on value.

I would definitely stay at the Oddfellows again. It's quirky, it's smart, the staff are fantastic, there're all very polite and all very helpful. The rooms are beautifully furnished. Showers work well, some rooms have gallery bathrooms with bath.

The negatives. Most of us requested wake up calls but somebody forgot. Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but no milk. Neither of these were an issue for me.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody who wishes to stay in Chester city centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fit2Hear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

When we asked the only two people who live near Chester where to stay, the both independently recommended Oddfellows to us. We were really glad that they did. The design is very unique and a lot of thought has gone into it. While it is different, it is both modern and old world all together if that is possible. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and efficient. We enjoyed drinks in the bar before dinner in the restaurant. I can't fault anything at this hotel and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a great duplex room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabrinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worsley, Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Great Hotel with fantastic quirky decor and Chester right on your door. Had a lovely two night break and the furnishing and design really give it a 5 star feel. Downsides were the price of room, mini bar and some noise coming up ducting in the mornings. Soundproofing needs sorting.out to justify the cost. Enjoyed it overall and would come back.

Helpful?
Thank sonofsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had a nice stay, really liked the quirkiness of the hotel, from the moment you walk through the door your eyes are drawn to random furniture and decorative items.

Really liked the set table and chairs hung on the ceiling, not sure about the chair complete with stirrups in reception!

The room was very nice and perfectly clean, the mini-bar and Krup's coffee machine great, needed a little more milk in the fridge though.

Service was good, taxi's rung for us and when the taxi disappeared without us ordered us another straight away.

Wasn't impressed with the 'breakfast to go' I know a lot of hotels do this these days but for the price you pay you should really get a cooked breakfast included. We took the breakfast to go and went to the cafe across the street for our cooked breakfast which was about £4 each and pretty good!

You can have breakfast at the hotel but from memory we thought it was a little pricey at around £10 each, especially after you've paid for out for a room.

Overall, great stay, lovely hotel, shame about the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We booked Chester as a recommended place to visit! Having a thing for boutique hotels this was the best in Chester! It was quirky wonderful inviting and everything you could want from a boutique hotel! The room was stunning with high ceilings! We spent the afternoon in our room! In the evening you are on Chester door step with restaurants all around! After dinner we went to the bar got our drinks and headed into the garden terrace. I couldn't have been happier sat in a booth by a log fire with a great atmosphere and unlike anything I have ever seen at a hotel! We will defs be going back! Also park at the pepper street ncp and you get it free if you mention to staff who are great!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura198935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Oddfellows is without a doubt the best hotel, bar and restaurant in Chester. It manages to be stylish, quirky yet elegant all at the same time.
The food and cocktails are delicious but is is the surroundings that make this venue truly magnificent. I can come here again me again and still be wowed by the place.
A little tip is to visit on a Sunday sometimes they have lunch offers on and usually there is a great swing/jazz singer on.

Only downside would be that since the refurbishment they have raised their prices quite dramatically and no longer seem to do drinks offers but I suppose they are aiming for high calibre clients these days.

Also I am so sad that the smoking stags head (not as weird as it sounds) is no longer in the bar!!

Would I recommend Oddfellowes? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxurybackpacker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,149 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing