We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

After leaving our previous hotel after asking for a full refund we took to trip advisor to find a quick alternative. Oddfellows did not disappoint. The staff are great from check in to walking you to your room, showing you were everything is.

The hotel is decorated and furnished in a quirky but brilliant way.

Our room (number 4) was finished and furnished to a high standard and was spotless. The facilities in our room were second to none with a coffee machine, huge shower and a stand alone roll top bath. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotel itself is situated perfectly 2 minutes walk from the centre but just enough to be quiet at night.

The complimentary breakfast consists of a pastry, yoghurt, apple and fresh orange juice delivered to your door ready for when you wake up in the morning. However a full cooked breakfast is available to purchase also.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel at a resonable price for chester centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjaast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have only stayed here on the one occasion so far. I have to say, Oddfellows has certainly raised the standards here.
My room was a standard double and it was to a very high standard with some nice finishing touches.
The restaurant & bar prices are slightly above average, but you don't have to eat and drink their if you don't want to. There is a real nice italian restaurant just across the road if you want to keep your costs down.
All in all, an excellent hotel with well trained staff and fantastic standard in the rooms.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed with my wife whilst attending a business function nearby. unbeknown to us, we were upgraded to a suite, which was just fantastic. Set on two levels; the ground floor had a wet room shower, fridge, Blu Ray player, smart TV, corner sofa and view of the gardens, and the Mezzanine had the bed, another smart TV, and bizarrely a bath tub at the end of the bed!
Staff were attentive, atmosphere was great, and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruntfuttock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, quirky and in town. Would be great in the sunshine! Took us a whole to figure out the bathroom door. Loved the interior, cocktails and service. Would definitely go back again, felt very prestige at a good price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louieegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we only had a meal and drinks here on a recent stay in Chester but will probably choose it for our hotel also next time, the restaurant was lovely and so were the gardens and bar areas, the food was really good and everything tasted fresh . the only negative was my husbands "Fish Soup" which tasted fantastic unfortunately there was just not enough liquid to really call it a soup as it didn't cover the spoon ! it was a few pieces of lovely seafood in a small amount of sauce, leaving him bit on the hungry side. we would eat there again as the quality was great, but would probably order a few more sides.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed at Oddfellows three times this year already and plan to go back very soon.

The rooms are amazing and quite unique. Really comfortable beds.

We were given an upgrade on our third trip as they remembered us, but we were glad we did not pay as the room was no better than the standard rooms available.

So we'd definitely recommend just getting the standard Caldecott room rather than paying a lot more for the Newbrook as there is no visible difference apart from getting a round bed.

Excellent place to visit and stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SMP1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Great hotel,nice and different decor and furnishings to normal hotels. Reception had seats for you to sit at when checking in, staff very friendly - they showed us up to our room - don't normally get that. The outside bar looked amazing, didn't get to try it out but want to go back - reminded me of bars in Oz as its furnished like an indoor bar. Only gripe was that there were no biscuits in the room and that our room didn't have a bath - but did have a lovely double shower!! Breakfast (the one included in the price) was a small croissant, juice and an apple delivered to your room. Nice idea, but i like hotels where you can eat tonnes of breakfast,enough to fill you up till dinner! You could go to the restaurant but that was extra (didnt see how much extra). Other than that I would go again,just because its so different to big chain hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,645 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
2,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £97 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing