We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch in the garden..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
lancaster
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch in the garden..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

October 2013 I spent a couple of days in one of my favourite cities - Chester. We decided to totally relax so rather than head for the excellent shops we returned to Oddfellows for lunch. Its a number of years since I last dined here but again I loved it ! A surprisingly warm day, we ate in the walled garden kept warm by a patio heater in one of their quirky 'sheds'. Food was excellent as was our choice of wine and service by a young waitress and waiter was perfect. This is a fabulous quirky place and,after speaking to our waiter learnt it is now part of the Chester Grosvenor. We took up the offer of touring their recent bedroom extension. The rooms arent huge but very stylish and again a touch quirky. The charming manager pointed us in the direction of their super offer in January - needless to say I have booked a short stay.!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridesmum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    256
    84
    46
    28
See reviews for
143
565
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights during either late oct or early nov 2012. We stayed in a room above the outside bar area. The room was beautiful. Very comfortable and trendy. The shower room, open to the bedroom, but with a glass door used for the shower to separate the room, was really cool. The room was very large. It was just a lovely, boutique hotel. Unfortunately due to the bar being so close to the room, the noise at night was terrible. We bought ear plugs for the second night which helped. The room was very well appointed and bed really comfy. We had drinks in the bar on our first night, but did not eat at the hotel during our stay. Being vegetarian, the options at the time were not that great, but maybe next time we visit. It is such a quirky hotel and I would stay here again, but remember to take my earplugs. It is situated down a side street off the central area of Chesters shopping district, which is great. There are plenty of shops and restaurants, and we also walked on the wall that surrounds Chester, which took around 40 minutes. In all a lovely weekend. Id recommend this hotel for couples and friends on a shopping weekend. The hotel does not have its own parking, but they have an arrangement with a nearby car park. It cost around £20 for our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if indeed they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at Oddfellows as a last minute night away & could not have wished for anything better. On making the initial telphone booking the guy I spoke to was extremely helpful & courteous (even though it was 11pm on a Friday night!!) I booked a "Sunday Special Offer" room which included a food platter & drink on arrival (which was divine). The service upon on early arrival was first class - our luggage was taken care of & when returning to our room after check in, found that our clothes were hung & lights etc already on. The hotel is quirky in a way I have never seen before & probably wont see again - it is too individual. We were kindly upgraded (free of charge & unexpected) as it was an anniversary & were delighted with the big round bed & the unusual shower in the beautiful room. The service received from every single member of staff was outstanding, the location was great & the hotel itself is truly AMAZING. Didnt want to leave & cannot wait to return. Congratulations Oddfellows on being completely individual & thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Every single thing about this hotel is super special ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alitart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic quirky hotel with great food, helpful staff and a great atmosphere.
Would recommend the afternoon tea with a glass of fizz. The macaroons and chocolate brownies are to die for!
We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was very busy but we had no complaints. The food was exquisite. I think my husband had died and gone to heaven with the beef shin potato! The restaurant manager was really friendly and made sure that we were happy.
We will definitely return. Next time with an entourage of friends!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s9cko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just spent a most relaxing night at oddfellows. It's a beautiful building in central area of Chester and full of surprises! The gentleman on reception was most helpful and polite when we arrived a bit later than expected . Our room was very modern and everywhere appeared to be fresh and new. Fantastic shower feature! We had a view overlooking the secret garden area which was a magical area with gardens and booths etc. Nice relaxing bar for drinks and cocktails and loved the quirky furniture and artefacts in the reception area. This hotel is a little gem and will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janicetraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my Fiancee stayed for 1 night over the weekend. Hotel exterior does not show what quirkiness and beauty hides within. We were checked in promtly and showed to our room - standard Caldecot Room. Rooms are located across the covered courtyard in an extension building which is beautifully decorated and very clean. Room was clean, modern and comfortable. We Went down for drinks before we ventured out, although the bar was full we were ushered outside (initally aprehensive as it was chucking it down and freezing) but plenty of patio heaters and covered areas made it a nice drink.

We were tendered to by the waiters very well and made sure we were kept topped up until we were ready to leave.

All in all the staff were very helpful, and the hotel is absolutely lovely, wouldnt think twice about stopping there again in the future.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms (Caldecot) are all you need, if you want extra luxury then upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed one night mid week - welcome was friendly, bar and reception areas very quirky with a welcoming feel to them. Rooms were great - very modern but comfortable with fabulous shower in the middle of the room!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing