We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here as a treat for his 40th birthday it was amazing. I emailed a few days prior to arrival to see if they could put some birthday balloons in our room which they did.The room was stunning the staff so helpful I'd defiantly stay again. The atmosphere was fantastic on a Friday night you had no need to leave the lovely bar area. Beautiful quirky amazing place can't wait to go back. Thankyou xx

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    256
    84
    46
    28
See reviews for
143
564
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at oddfellows for one night in one of the luxury doubles and we loved it. The room was'nt the biggest but definitely one of the best we have stayed in, it was quirky, had all the facilities you needed and was absolutely spotless. I can understand what reviewers mean about the bathroom but we actually really liked it. The hotel itself was something else and the staff could not do enough for us. The only meal which we had there was breakfast there was a nice choice on the menu and we both chose the English breakfast which cost us an additional £12 each, there was also an option of a complimentary take away breakfast which looked ok as well. There is an overnight car park just around the corner £12 for 24 hours but the hotel give you an Half price voucher on check out. Like I said we loved it and are already looking at when we can go back there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a Sunday night as a birthday treat. From beginning to end the staff were bright, friendly, helpful and courteous at all times. The rear garden is a special feature and provides a warm, cosy relaxing setting to have a few drinks, chat and chill. Breakfast is waiter service, we had the full English and it was delicious and ample. My only little gripe is that we had a room in a new building at the rear of the hotel. The room itself was great, clean and the bed was very comfy. However the en-suite is a bit of an odd design. The partition walls are made entirely of glass with an obscure glazed panel in the centre with clear glass above and below. Basically there was little room for modesty, just as well I was with my girl fiend, so it wasn't too much of an issue. I hope this wouldn't put anyone off, just be prepared. As I said in the title I love this place and definitely one day will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigTBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Loved this place, quirky, modern and just really cool! its possibly the coolest hotel i have stayed at! perfect location in chester, we got a bargain at this hotel just after christmas! please please do this offer again otherwise you are well out of our price range and we so want to return! :) it was lovely the room the food the decor everything about it ticked our box, if we lived closer I would happily get married here too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

What can we possibly say to sum up how amazing our wedding day was at oddfellows! Obviously that's, at least in part, because we like each other, but a big part of it was attributable to the fantastic staff... They were so accommodating of us being late with pretty much every aspect of the day! It ran seamlessly and everyone commented on what an amazing venue it was and how relaxed it was. Special thanks to Emma, Mo and Sam. Brilliant. Honestly. If you're considering getting married here just do it! You won't regret it I promise! Xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had 4 nights in this hotel for a January break and enjoyed every minute.
The hotel was filled with lovely different things everywhere you looked. I've never stayed anywhere like it.
We stayed in The Newbrook room which was great with the round bed and really spacious. (A word of warning though. The mini bar isn't cheap)
There's a great outdoor area which was being used whilst we were there even though the weather wasn't that great as they had heaters and canopies.
I can't comment on the food there as we didn't eat in the hotel but I must say it is in a very central position and plenty of restaurants near by.
Everywhere was so clean and the staff really friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to go back here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The round bed was really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binzi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here a night for our anniversary, and overall I have to say the place itself was stunning, quirky and with a lovely atmosphere. We did however have a lot of ups and downs.

We arrived at 3pm when we were due to be checked in, but ended up waiting 25 minutes in the lounge area, although this wasn't really a big deal.
When we were taken to our room, we were given our keys and left without any explanation as to why we were given a totally different room to what we had paid for other than "the room you booked is currently out of order." Had we been notified of this beforehand, it would have been much better, but we weren't. Because of this I checked the website and realised that, very discreetly, it did mention a room that sounded like the one we were given, but there were no photos and it was nevertheless a little disappointing and completely different compared to what we had been shown on the website. Another little fault was that the mini-fridge was not plugged in and still didn't work when we plugged it in, but this didn't really affect the stay.
Positives - The room was still nice and cozy, the bed was enormous and the bathroom was very nice with a bath tub which the other room did not offer - so we stayed positive about that.

We were very pleased with the lounge area and the atmosphere of this and the garden was fantastic when lit up at night time. The cocktails we tried were incredible and the bar staff were very friendly. We were also very happy with the comfort of the bed and the fact that we were brought free breakfast in the morning and this reconciled the previous issues for us and made the overall stay that night pretty much perfect.

Unfortunately the following morning was another problem we encountered, as there was some confusion with the payment for our room and we ended up being charged twice. This, I think, is due to the fact that the website for Oddfellows does not seem very well connected with the hotel itself, so we did not complain to the staff there and they quickly refunded us the second payment with no problems.

I think that our main issue with the stay was that we were not notified of our room change and it seemed like we had been downgraded rather than upgraded which seemed a bit unfair. If we had paid full price (thankfully it was January sale price), the room we were given would have not been satisfactory for the price and we would not have been happy. We are not sure that the hotel lives up to the way it is described or shown on the website, but it was definitely an overall decent stay, just could have been much better. For a 5 star hotel you would expect a refund of some sort, but we were offered no more than a quick apology.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing