We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed one night at an excellent hotel. All staff were professional and hard working. Hotel was very well placed 5 minutes from the River Dee and also from the centre of Town. The decor of the hotel was quirky and very individual . The main hotel rooms and bars are in the old part of the hotel and are beautiful .you walk through and find the hidden courtyard with little alcoves and tables.the new section is through this courtyards the rooms are decorated to a very high standard we had a massive round bed and walk in shower. The food was of a very high standard beautifully cooked and presented and the service was first class. All in all fully recommend this hotel on every aspect.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which did not overlook the courtyard and while not massive had big round bed wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyMc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    257
    86
    46
    28
See reviews for
145
577
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I've just returned from a 2 night stay at Oddfellows, and can't really think of one thing to 'complain' about..
It was booked as an impromptu couple of days away, just an excuse to relax and unwind. The hotel was easy to find, and fabulously located for the town centre, the NCP car park was just 2 minutes walk away, and equally as easy to find (remember to ask at reception for your car park voucher on departure).
I booked the Newbrook (room 5) and it was exactly as shown and described on the website, so no dissapointment there. Spotlessley clean and with an efficient air con/heating system. (useful because the windows are non opening) The only (slight) niggle was the huge round bed has a zip link mattress (having never slept in a round bed before this might be the norm.. I don't know?) which was placed on the bed with the zip running across the middle, but we asked the room maid if she would change it so that it ran top to bottom for the 2nd night, which was no problem and solved the issue. Apart from that the room was lovely and quiet, plenty of space, well appointed shower room, and all the 'usual' knick knacks.
We ate in the restaurant the first night, 3 courses for £19.50, well worth it, excellent value for a lovely meal. Then made use of the popular and very comfortable cocktail bar for a couple of hours after that... we didn't actually make it any further than that on the first evening!! All of the staff were polite, engaging and attentive throughout.
We had the breakfast to go on the first morning (we forgot to fill in the bag and hang it out on the second day... oops! Otherwise we'd have had it that day too) which was quite adequate, there are so many fab places to eat in Chester we planned on sampling some for brunch etc so didn't really want to feel 'stuffed' first thing in the day. Pain au chocolat, croissant (lovely and fresh it was too!) fresh juice, local yoghurt, and fruit, it was enough for me anyway!

All in all an excellent, revitalising stay. Great quirky place, lovely staff, decent restaurant, pleasant cocktail bar, brilliant location.... couldn't really ask for much more!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Right in the centre of town, its perfectly located. We used the NCP car park across the road. The Hotel is quirky and different. The room we had was bijou but kitted out with the best of everything, very elegant and relaxing. The cocktail bar on the Friday night was buzzy and they made me a cocktail by asking me what type of things I like and he put it together and put my name on it, nice touch. We upgraded to full breakfast and again it was perfect - not huge portions, but just enough after a night out!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday break and was overall impressed. The hotel itself is quirky throughout with a luxury Alice in Wonderland feel. A lovely boutique hotel with every last detail thought out. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and always ready to help with a smile. You are really made to feel special. Perfect location for the centre of Chester - 5mins walk, if that, to the main shopping area. I am saddened that I can't give Oddfellows full stars as I really do think it deserves it, however on 2 of our 4 days there we had issues with the house keeping standards and was forced to complain (stained bedding on the first night and dirty cushions with an unknown suspect stain on the second night). Both issues were dealt with by the management team to our satisfaction however, it was just disappointing. We stayed in room 11 and would recommend it. Very quiet and spacious layout. The complimentary breakfast bag is nicely done but be prepared to wait longer than you state to have it delivered as on 2 of the mornings we asked for it at 7 but it only came at 8. Overall an excellent place to stay and we will stay again if ever in Chester again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffit86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here just after the new year and have just stayed again on the 16th Feb. The hotel and bar area are stunning and there are many quirks to the hotel which stand out from your usual hotel. All the staff are extremely polite and helpful. Also the location is excellent with many bars and restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are all unique but stunning. I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous 24 hours in Chester staying at Oddfellows whichever we sourced on trip advisor.
What a fabulous place, quirky but very very stylish. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was a bother.
We booked a luxury room, it was the one themed for films and was so tasteful. Beautiful soft furnishings in the room, the round bed and bathroom all really funky, contemporary but not tacky in anyway. We were so pleasantly surprised as some reviews said the rooms in the annexe were small, it is no way small and when people say annexe you immediately think this will be a negative, this is not the case. It really is not an annexe, it is an addition to the hotel which is adjoined by a wonderful outdoor bar area and patio which reminded me of being in New York at the Hudson hotel!! Delightful, although this was not the right time of year to be out on a patio, it was very cool and we will definitely go back in the summer.
Cannot recommend this hotel more for a night or more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the night in one of the new brook lofts. We didn't get a preference to which one but I was happy with the double water fall shower, how ever I did miss the luxury of a roll top bath. Staff were incredibly helpful the bar was amazing a piece of art hidden in a lovely town. The room was overly hot, no windows could be open and there was a light bulb out by the mirror. I would of loved a space to do my make up. But all in all the room was amazing, it was individual and I would love to return! I'd recommend this to everyone due to the individuality of the hotel and rooms.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bishwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing