We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience in Chester”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience in Chester”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visiting Chester most months on business I have stayed in many hotels, but now I only ever stay at The Oddfellows. It has a great location in the City Centre, being a short walk to the river, the city walls and many good pubs and restaurants. The hotel is very quirky, but very comfortable throughout and the staff are always very friendly. A minor complaints would be that the rooms are kept at too high a temperature. A great breakfast and a friendly bar add to the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    268
    90
    49
    28
See reviews for
154
603
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Amazingly quirky, funky interior, cool rooms making it fun and interesting. Attention to detail was the let down. Whilst the bed was enormous and unusually round, it turned out to have a zip down the middle, not so comfortable for snuggling together, although the pillows and areas around the zip were very comfy! One of our towells had lipstick on, the button on the shower fell out when we turned the shower on, uncomfortable with the no door on the bathroom idea and the sink had a funny smell coming from it.

The 3 major issues we had:
1) The welcome was cold and we felt looked down on. We had just come from Zip World in North Wales so were in sports wear. When we jokingly said, 'dont worry we'll brush ourselves up for dinner' the receptionist simply said 'good'.

2) We were awoken at 8am to the recycling of glass and the loud removal of large waste bins from the kitchen. This went on for over 30 minutes. We had to call down to complain. This was then succeeded 20 minutes later with a knock on the door to say our breakfast was outside. The breakfast was supposed to be left hanging on the door (it was a cold takeaway brekkie), not to be disturbed to let us know it was there. Furthermore, our breakfast for 2 was missing 1 persons breakfast, so we had to call down for this. They were apologetic and quick to correct.

3) At dinner, the people beside us ordered the same meal a few minutes ahead of us so we saw it come out and what was included. When ours arrived it was distinctly lacking in a number of the trimmings. When we asked where they were, the waiter apologised and simply said, 'sorry we've run out of those bits'. What!? He kindly offered us a side dish of our choosing or a complimentary drink - but only because we asked where these missing items were.

You'll be surprised to hear that despite all this, we had a REALLY GOOD TIME. The bar was busy and fun with cool design and great bespoke cocktails. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly (if not a bit too attentive (hovering over us a lot). We spent our entire evening in the hotel, chilling out, then dinner, then stayed in the funky garden with a drink until it was too cold, then went inside to the bar. All the while with the restaurant staff clearing a table ahead of our every step for us and transporting our drinks.

We provided feedback at check out but were simply thanked and were sent on our way. Reception staff could have been a lot better, given that they are the first and last impression.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 5 or the room beside or above it to avoid the noise of dumping glass for 30+minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Odd fellows hotel as a romantic get away. On arrival the staff weren't as friendly as we had expected. Got to the room and was absolutely gobsmacked we stayed in the douglas duplex suite! Absolutely amazing room and my partner had paid extra for flowers, champagne and chocolates all beautifully set out by the hotel staff. Although we had problems with the shower leaking out of the bottom! The breakfast wasn't fabulous and we threw most of it away. We didn't spend much time in the bar area but when we did the bar staff were incredibly friendly and treated us like royalty. The hot chocolate is beautiful! Our room was cleaned daily and we felt so relaxed. The bar area was a little noisy on a night and the room was boiling which made it hard to sleep as we couldn't have the window open! The radiator in the toilet area is also permanently on which made it like a sauna! Besids this we had an amazing stay and if we could get a cheap offer to stay again we definitely would! Although we wouldn't pay what the hotel rate is through their actual website!! Lovely little town with many shops and a lot of places to eat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just spent the last 2 nights in this hotel , it was fantastic every single thing about it , the staff give 110% customer service all so freindly and very helpfull espesially Mo and Josh the hotels decor is unreal , rooms were amazing spotless clean, the food was the best av had by far , all round i would recomend this hotel to everybody as its beautiful , thank u for a lovely weekend , will be back as soon LFC ❤❤❤❤❤❤

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariagerrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire Trafford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in march & everything was perfect. We decided to go back for my husbands birthday. When arriving in the room we were both very hot. We tried turning it down & just wasn't working.After advising reception & requesting for it to be mended whilst out, we assumed this would of been done. It wasn't.& we actually found a radiator on full blast. Not just that but the room had no windows. So it was very claustrophobic & uncomfortable. We got zero sleep & paid nearly £200 on our departure. After mentioning this to reception they said they can't do anything about the bill but will look after us next time. Well this unfortunately will NOT keep our custom I'm afraid. You have already proved you can't "look after us " whilst we are there why would we be encouraged to go back?? .... We wouldn't! We spend a lot of time in Chester. Think we will try the dragonfly next time though. Such a shame as most of the staff we're great, hotel is lovely. But we won't be parting with our money here again. One last thing. You get a very basic breakfast inc in the price. If you want full English etc it's extra, so when you weigh up the price of hotel In the first place, it isn't good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed at oddfellows for one night for my partners birthday. Check in didn't go as well as we expected but was quickly resolved and we was given 2 free drinks for the confusion. Cocktails in the bar were great. Lovely room was abit unhappy that we didn't get the room with the round bed but our room was still great. Lovely and clean, nice comfy bed and great big shower. The Italian over the road was lovely we had a really nice meal there, would recommend booking as it was very busy when we went at 6pm. Kuckoo was great for even more cocktails. Would defiantly recommend oddfellows and we hope to return again later this year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank State23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

One of the best places for drinks in Chester. Amazing cocktails, fabulous choice of spirits and always a great atmosphere. The hotel itself is beautiful and it always feels a real treat being there!

Drinks no more expensive than you would pay in other hotels in Chester. Worth it every time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing