We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy with a good location”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed one night in a Caldecott room on a Saturday. The hotel is really well located for shops, bars and restaurants and there's a convenient NCp round the corner on pepper street. Pleasant stay all round, the rooms are very comfy with cool decor, staff generally quite friendly and no real faults to report. Only gripes: the light breakfast left outside your door in a morning is a nice touch in that you can have it in bed, however for the room rate and the standard of the hotel I would perhaps expect/prefer a cooked served breakfast or the inclusive option. The only other negative is that when we went for a drink late afternoon/early evening in the garden bar, there was a lively hen party going on and a small group of kids running around, and with no room in the bar inside we had to sit and endure it. Not ideal on a romantic weekend away! Circumstantial I guess but I feel the hotel staff could have perhaps done more to accommodate us? Ooh lastly, the cocktail menu quite good with a few different options, however the bar was understaffed to make them and waits at the bar were lengthy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinklyb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Visited today for afternoon tea with my best friend and 4 year old son. I wanted somewhere special as I had my first wedding dress fitting. Oddfellows didn't dissapoint. Afternoon tea Was really yummy. My son also had afternoon tea which was meant to be mini! He loved it. The cakes were boxed up to bring home. Staff were very friendly and attentive! Nothing was to much trouble. Will definitely visit for afternoon tea after my next dress fitting! Well worth a visit!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked a table for myself and two friends for Afternoon Tea 10/05/14. The staff were welcoming and accommodated for specific dietary requirements and allergies. We opted to have a glass of champagne with our afternoon tea (£5 extra and worth it). The presentation of the afternoon tea was beautiful, the sandwiches were lovely and scones, cakes etc were delicious. Once we were served tea and had been asked if everything was alright or if we needed anything else the staff pretty much left us to enjoy ourselves which was great. If we had needed anything there was plenty of staff on hand to ask.

If you want good service and an excellent afternoon tea which doesn't break the bank then I would say you need to visit Oddfellows.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Oddfellows hosted our party of 15 (+ 3 under 3 year olds) shortly after we tied the knot at Chester registry office. We were treated superbly, courteously ushered from our drinks reception to the mad hatter's room and then afterwards to our private area of the bar. The food was excellent, the drinks lovely and the service outstanding. Mo and his team were diligent and thorough in their approach and it made our day. Many thanks for a superb event and we shall visit oddfellows when we return to Chester!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TywynAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visiting Chester most months on business I have stayed in many hotels, but now I only ever stay at The Oddfellows. It has a great location in the City Centre, being a short walk to the river, the city walls and many good pubs and restaurants. The hotel is very quirky, but very comfortable throughout and the staff are always very friendly. A minor complaints would be that the rooms are kept at too high a temperature. A great breakfast and a friendly bar add to the overall experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Amazingly quirky, funky interior, cool rooms making it fun and interesting. Attention to detail was the let down. Whilst the bed was enormous and unusually round, it turned out to have a zip down the middle, not so comfortable for snuggling together, although the pillows and areas around the zip were very comfy! One of our towells had lipstick on, the button on the shower fell out when we turned the shower on, uncomfortable with the no door on the bathroom idea and the sink had a funny smell coming from it.

The 3 major issues we had:
1) The welcome was cold and we felt looked down on. We had just come from Zip World in North Wales so were in sports wear. When we jokingly said, 'dont worry we'll brush ourselves up for dinner' the receptionist simply said 'good'.

2) We were awoken at 8am to the recycling of glass and the loud removal of large waste bins from the kitchen. This went on for over 30 minutes. We had to call down to complain. This was then succeeded 20 minutes later with a knock on the door to say our breakfast was outside. The breakfast was supposed to be left hanging on the door (it was a cold takeaway brekkie), not to be disturbed to let us know it was there. Furthermore, our breakfast for 2 was missing 1 persons breakfast, so we had to call down for this. They were apologetic and quick to correct.

3) At dinner, the people beside us ordered the same meal a few minutes ahead of us so we saw it come out and what was included. When ours arrived it was distinctly lacking in a number of the trimmings. When we asked where they were, the waiter apologised and simply said, 'sorry we've run out of those bits'. What!? He kindly offered us a side dish of our choosing or a complimentary drink - but only because we asked where these missing items were.

You'll be surprised to hear that despite all this, we had a REALLY GOOD TIME. The bar was busy and fun with cool design and great bespoke cocktails. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly (if not a bit too attentive (hovering over us a lot). We spent our entire evening in the hotel, chilling out, then dinner, then stayed in the funky garden with a drink until it was too cold, then went inside to the bar. All the while with the restaurant staff clearing a table ahead of our every step for us and transporting our drinks.

We provided feedback at check out but were simply thanked and were sent on our way. Reception staff could have been a lot better, given that they are the first and last impression.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 5 or the room beside or above it to avoid the noise of dumping glass for 30+minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Odd fellows hotel as a romantic get away. On arrival the staff weren't as friendly as we had expected. Got to the room and was absolutely gobsmacked we stayed in the douglas duplex suite! Absolutely amazing room and my partner had paid extra for flowers, champagne and chocolates all beautifully set out by the hotel staff. Although we had problems with the shower leaking out of the bottom! The breakfast wasn't fabulous and we threw most of it away. We didn't spend much time in the bar area but when we did the bar staff were incredibly friendly and treated us like royalty. The hot chocolate is beautiful! Our room was cleaned daily and we felt so relaxed. The bar area was a little noisy on a night and the room was boiling which made it hard to sleep as we couldn't have the window open! The radiator in the toilet area is also permanently on which made it like a sauna! Besids this we had an amazing stay and if we could get a cheap offer to stay again we definitely would! Although we wouldn't pay what the hotel rate is through their actual website!! Lovely little town with many shops and a lot of places to eat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,547 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £103 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing