We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Booked one night in The Loft Room, sorry did not book more nights, what a fabulous hotel.

The reception area is beautiful with really attentive staff, the room that we had booked was absolutely beautiful, we had the double baths in our room, if you get chance book one of the Loft rooms you will not be disappointed.

When we finally left our room which was hard to do as it was so comfy and cosy I cud have just stayed there for the whole visit we ventured down into the cocktail bar and the secret garden, what a choice of cocktails, too many to choose from so had to try quite a few! The garden is fabulous and even has canopies coming over when it starts raining, there is heaters all over and the staff are constantly checking you are ok but not in a pushy manner.

Nothing was too much trouble for anyone of the staff in the hotel and I can't wait to visit again, we are going to sample the food next time which we didn't do this time as we had table booked elsewhere.

HURRY UP MY NEXT VISIT.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Oddfellows for one night while in Chester recently, but were sorry we couldn't stay longer. This is one of the most beautifully designed hotels I have ever seen. So much attention has been paid to every detail. Our room was absolutely lovely and so was the restaurant, but my favourite space was the delightful cocktail bar. As well as there being an impressive range of cocktails on offer, it was also just such a pretty room. I would definitely recommend staying at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Lunch today could not have been more perfect. Cold wine, great snacky starters, amazing bread, lovely mains, smiling staff - perfect. No snobby behaviour from the staff. A gem. We sat in a booth outside and the atmosphere was great. Lots of nice people to brighten the place up as well!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Smallcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Oddfellows last week, and I wish we could have stayed there longer! I loved the beautiful details that were everywhere. We enjoyed several cocktails in the bar and had friendly service from the waitress. She even asked for feedback on my husband's martini on behalf of the bartender!

The room was well-appointed and the paper-bag breakfast was a cute concept. I wish we could have made a few breakfast selections, as we don't drink orange juice or eat croissants.

Room Tip: If you choose the last available room, it might be the handicap accessible one (which we had). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowbunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Oddfellow's at the beginning of June for two nights. We were instantly impressed with the quirky interior and friendly staff.
We were a bit confused about the check in process, we intended to pay on check in using cash however we was told that payment would be taken on departure, the receptionist requested a pre authorization from our card for the total room amount and a further £75 for any "room charges", altogether £225! Gob smacked we reluctantly agreed. We ended up paying using that card but the £75 was held for a further 3 days. (We were told that it would get released on check out!).
Despite this our bedroom was beautiful, we only booked a standard room but was still very impressed, unfortunately we did have to move rooms on our 2nd night as the air con wasn't working and the room was incredibly hot. Fortunately we were upgraded, the upgrade was amazing, huge round bed, sofa and stunning bathroom. Nespresso coffee machines are a lovely touch. The garden outside is wonderful, very romantic at night. We ordered a platter on the second night which was delicious, so much so we ordered another bowl of olives!
The best bit about this hotel is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone is helpful, smiley and willing to please even down to the maintenance man who came to look at our air con. They are a real credit to the hotel.
Overall we would 100% stay again and have already recommended friends and family.
Thanks Oddfellows!

Room Tip: The only problems we experienced was the air con and loud bottle bins being emptied very early, both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for one night mid week on business. Very well presented Hotel and obviously a lot of money has been spent on it. Lots of beautiful, quirky detail totally lacking in atmosphere, hospitality or a friendly face.

All in all not any better than any other offering in Chester at the same price.

Room Tip: Hobsons Choice I think - I was allocated a room away from the busy courtyard - with a bar. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for the first time for our first anniversary but it won't be the last time we stay. The hotel is lovely and enjoyed the secret garden area. The staff are so friendly and helpful you could not ask for better service. Our room Was lovely with a nice free standing bath in the bedroom and lovely decor. The hotel is in a great place too, just two minute walk to the river and the same to get to the very centre of the town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,534 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £102 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing