We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Fri/Sat if you want a restful night”
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Avoid Fri/Sat if you want a restful night”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I think this hotel has loads going for it. Its private dining rooms are lovely, the bar area good and I can imagine in the summer the outside areas are great at night. The rooms are furnished nicely but ours was very compact with little storage or headroom. All the staff we met were very helpful. Although on booking the website does note that they have a late license Friday/Saturday and therefore there may be some noise, we were not expecting the heavy bass of dance music pounding all night making it impossible to sleep until the music went off at 02.15am. Someone also tried to enter our room at 2am, though I'm not convinced this was a genuine mistake by a fellow visitor as we didn't hear them try any of the other three bedrooms ! Would go back but only during the week if there were no private parties booked

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mand1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    257
    85
    46
    28
See reviews for
145
577
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

OMG on first stepping inside what a dump. It needs some work. However the staff are great. The food in the restaurant was very very good especially for the price. The rooms upstairs looked great until you start to unpack and then in the bathroom there are no shelves for your sponge bags. No shavers point and given my husband needed to go to a business meeting was NOT good at all. The bed was so soft and set on a slope that made sleep very unpleasant and if you did not have a bad back before you sure did afterwards.However the staff were teriffic. I am glad however that we were not there on a busy Saturday as the noise from the public bar was phenomenol. Luckily we were in the attic and far enough away for it to be a dull roar.Oh and when they ask if you want a newspaper you get one on the first night but not on the second as they forget.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiePoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I booked this for my boyfriend's birthday and we had a really lovely stay.
We paid extra to have the room at the top with the twin bath tubs and it was really worth the extra money.
The rooms are really beautifully done, the beds are huge are really comfortable and the bathroom is lovely. The toilet is a bit of a squeeze if you are over 6ft and potentially hazardous if you are drunk but this didn't really matter.
The bar and restaurant below are trendy and lively and the outdoor section is lovely to sit out in. There are lots of different rooms to explore.
Staff were really friendly too, especially the reception ladies who seemed more excited than we were when we told them we were going to the Zoo. :) A really nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanbag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Oddfellows really is one of those unique places that you don't want to leave once you experienced the standard of service, surroundings and glorious breakfasts. We only stayed one night and it was truly worth every penny. It stands apart from the usual hotel crowd due to it's fabulous design...it is a true boutique hotel in every sense of the word. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful ...couldn't have asked for a more perfect break. My only complaint is that we didn't book another night !!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPrinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

if you enjoy waitresses that touch up your partner, rude and ignorant staff, sharing an ice bucket with another table, and half your meal. Staff and management who do return your calls, or e-mails. lie through their teeth as to how many times they have tried to contact you and left voicemails, and promises of getting back to you asap. Then Oddfellows is the place for you. Personally I am disgusted with the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hyacinth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Booking into the Oddfellows for a 4 night stay for my birthday we found this quirky hotel to be full of style and character with staff and service to match.

From our very initial contact with the hotel when booking this break the staff we’re incredibly helpful and our high expectation were met when we arrived at Oddfellows.

We stayed in room number 1, which was styled originally with quirky design features, a huge free standings shower, a massive comfortable bed and an amazing feature of the bathroom being 2 rolled top baths side by side (one of the reasons we chose this room – which did not disappoint)

The bar staff were incredibly knowledgeable about the drinks they served and made; and seemed to have a genuine interest in what we liked and wanted.

Our evening meal in the a’l’carte restaurant was one of; if not the best meal we have had. The menu was innovative and well thought out and was a pure delight, the wine choices suggested with each dish match the quality of the food perfectly.

We would like to say a special thank you to Jo, Catherine and all of the staff at Oddfellows for making our stay in lovely Chester a memorable one. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandJohn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We loved everything about the hotel. The quirky trendy style was right up our street. We stayed in the junior suite (we'd heard the 2 smaller rooms had limited head room and with my husband being 6.2 thought we needed a bigger room). Got a great deal on late rooms. The room was lovely, full of character and nice little touches and a fabulous shower. The service was great. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
The parking is a little difficult to find and is small but the receptionist guided us in fine and if you leave your keys with them, they'll happily shift the cars around.
We stayed on the Sunday night before bank holiday and the food deal was amazing, 3 courses for £15. The food was excellent quality and the cocktails were to die for. The blueberry pie (cocktail) particularly was gorgeous. The bar was busy enough for a drink after dinner i.e. plenty of atmosphere but not too busy.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted something special which is what we got. The breakfast was maybe a little overpriced but it was served in the pantry at the front of the hotel with it's own unique style and we'd had such a great time, we didn't mind spending a little over the odds for breakfast.
The location is also perfect for Chester, just a short walk in to go shopping. I would certainly recommend this hotel particularly on a Sunday for the deal on the food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing