We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Bear and Billet

Bear and Billet
Ranked #59 of 561 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Bear & Billet is a terrific 3 storie pub located inside the walled city of Chester which was owned by the Earl of Shrewsbury & built in 1664. The Bear & Billet offers a great friendly place to enjoy food and drink. We have a wide selection of cask ales and well as draught and bottled beers from around the world. We have a full homecoo0ked food menu available everyday day with Sunday lunch available every Sunday from 12pm-7pm. Not only that we have function rooms available for hire as well as live sport shown throughout the year with 5 flat screen T. V's available on 3 floors.
devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Friendly staff, great lunch at a reasonable price, went a couple of times during our stay, a very historic building

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flymetotheun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearandBillet, Manager at Bear and Billet, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
thank you for your review guys, glad you enjoyed yourself hopefully see you again next time you are visiting Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    147
    19
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First visit, pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 20 celebrating a retirement, food booked for 2pm as we had to pre order due to be a large group. Efficient service from a friendly waitress who was very polite and helpful, food was plentyfull, well presented and tasted fab! Traditional pub decor which was cosey and welcoming! Would definitely go again and recommend to friends!

Helpful?
Thank Jaywows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearandBillet, Manager at Bear and Billet, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your time at the Bear & Billet, hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here on a Friday night which was steak night, my partner had the steak and I had the homemade curry. The hand cut chips were amazing, top marks to the chef for the man size chips! The peppercorn on the steak was also super tasty.

We also returned on Saturday night for tea with my sister and her partner. We had 2 baguettes, the homemade lamb curry and the Caesar salad which were all faultless.

Beware of the cloudy Cheddar cider.... my partner loved it but it was quite strong ;-)

Lovely atmosphere with friendly and attentive staff. Would recommend and would return.

Helpful?
Thank katyb2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearandBillet, Manager at Bear and Billet, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed both your visits to the Bear & Billet, hope to see you again on your next visit to Chester (P.S your right about the cider it's leathal stuff)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Curry Night”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was recommended to visit here as they were showing the World Cup games. We decided to eat here on opening ceremony night and it happened to be the Curry Night. Choice of 3 curries which came with 2 large popadoms and dip and a choice of rice or naan, also a drink included. All for £9.95. Good food, staff friendly, good choice of beer and excellent for watching the match.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFolk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Went in to the Bear and Billet for lunch with friends during a day trip to Chester. Good, honest pub food. I had chicken strips with pasta cooked in cream, wine and garlic - spot on. My friend had the same and her husband the lamb curry special. Food really tasty. £32 for the 3 of us incl. drinks. Serving staff polite. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear and Billet also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Bear and Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing