We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food at great value with excellent customer service”
Review of Bear and Billet

Bear and Billet
Ranked #59 of 561 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Bear & Billet is a terrific 3 storie pub located inside the walled city of Chester which was owned by the Earl of Shrewsbury & built in 1664. The Bear & Billet offers a great friendly place to enjoy food and drink. We have a wide selection of cask ales and well as draught and bottled beers from around the world. We have a full homecoo0ked food menu available everyday day with Sunday lunch available every Sunday from 12pm-7pm. Not only that we have function rooms available for hire as well as live sport shown throughout the year with 5 flat screen T. V's available on 3 floors.
Cannock
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at great value with excellent customer service”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely atmosphere, service with a genuine smile. Good selection of ales and fantastic food, great quality, great taste, good presentation and at a very good price. Portions are quite large. I found out there was certainly no need for side orders. Highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    147
    19
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Found this quaint pub on Tripadviser and it was spot-on. Good real ales and a "paddle" option where you could try 3 of them in ⅓ pint pots for the price of a pint. Fabulous building and we even had a choice of a quiz in the bar downstairs or a Folk Club upstairs. The wild rover in me chose .....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous old building”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in Chester for three nights and called into this pub twice. Their food is quality and tasty and well recommended. There is plenty going on each night of the week. The building is old and beautiful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very old building but has a great atmosphere. Good choice of ales. Definitely worth a visit if you are visiting Chester.

Helpful?
Thank HeleJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This pub, which does excellent food is very old and the building dates back to 1644. We liked it so much we went twice during our stay in Chester. They have a good choice of beers and ciders plus bottles of most things you can think of. There is a small courtyard at the rear with seating but no view as such.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motorbikechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear and Billet also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Bear and Billet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing