We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend family break”
Review of Kilmorey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilmorey Lodge
Ranked #34 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Went to Kilmorey Lodge for a weekend family break with our 7 and 8 year old boys. After a very warm welcome from the owner we were shown to our family which whilst being on the small side was very comfortable. The rooms and en suite bathroom were nothing short of spotless. Also the breakfasts were superb with the choice of a full english or continental. We were asked on arrival of any dietary requirements. The Lodge is situated within walking distance of the town centre. Lastly it was great that our kids were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Overall a great stay and will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Me and 2 other friends stayed here and we were over the moon.
We had a special requirement in terms of checking in and they were more than happy to help.
The B&B is stunning, beautiful decor our rooms were all amazing. The owners were great. The breakfast was delicious, and the price was even better. Would absolutely stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Clairybobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my partner booked this hotel after looking for about an hour at all the hotel 'deals' the chain hotels and B&Bs.
I was delighted when I found kilmorey lodge. We stayed in room 5 with the four poster bed. The furnishing was gorgeous. Far far away from all the premier inn lookalikes.
The room itself was on the front of the hotel with a huge bay window and spottless. Very fresh and bright. The en suite was large with a few nice touches from the owners including make up remover wipes cotton buds and soaps, appreciated the makeup remover wipes as it's little touches like that make all the difference. Plenty of fluffy white towels.
Breakfast was lovely also. Even as a fussy eater I found something I really enjoyed.
Location was perfect. 20 min walk to the center or 5 pound in a taxi.
I read on one of the reviews that because our room was situated on the front of a busy road it was very noisy. That's absolute rubbish. I had a great sleep! I have to have silence when I sleep and I couldn't hear a thing. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in! I didn't want to get up for breakfast it was so cosey.

Overall when we come back to chester for the weekend we will be staying in kilamorey lodge.
Great price
Great location
Great owners


(And this is coming from someone who will find a fault in anything.)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is an excellent guest house! Staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms are clean and the breakfast was perfectly cooked. Tea, coffee and bottled water are provided in the room, plus nice little extras, such as facial wipes.

It is 5 mins walk to the shops/pubs of Hoole and about 15-20 mins walk into Chester itself. There's parking at the guest house, but the car park is very small and difficult to get in/out of. However, there is plenty of free parking on the road outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you want to stay in Chester for someday I suggest you this smart and and clean guest house. The house keepers are very kind and smiling (a very good thing when you have your breakfast). My room and my bathroom were tiny but very clean . Breakfast was rich and good.I stayed here 21 days last summer and if I'll be back to Chester I choose Kilmorey again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiulioMusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The three of us stayed here on 4th Jan and found a welcoming host, good, clean, comfy accommodation with tea and coffee making facilities, and a good sized bathroom, plus a hearty breakfast the next morning.

This is all that we had hoped for, and would not hesitate to recommend to anybody looking for a b&b within walking distance of the city centre.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5 which is probably one of the largest, but is on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sufftrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilmoreylodge, Owner at Kilmorey Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your feed back, we really appreciate you taking time to do this. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and if you decide to visit Chester in the future we hope you will consider staying with us again. Jo and Gary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Modernised well presented guest house in the Hoole suburb of Chester. It takes around 20 mins to half an hour to walk into the city centre mainly along one road which was excellent fort he price paid. Rooms were clean and offered tv as well as tea/coffee making facilities. The only downside was that the water pressure of the electric shower in our room was poor although it was very modern and clean.
Breakfast was served in the front room and although there wasn't enough tables for all of the rooms the staff would come and knock at your door as soon as space was available.....only about 5 mins. The breakfast itself was excellent with either a full English or continental made to order. I would definitely stay here if I came to Chester again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0 mi away
Cheltenham Lodge
Cheltenham Lodge
#22 of 76 in Chester
220 reviews
0 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0 mi away
Bowman Lodge
Bowman Lodge
#39 of 76 in Chester
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#38 of 76 in Chester
101 reviews
0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#16 of 76 in Chester
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Villa Chester
Stone Villa Chester
#2 of 76 in Chester
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmorey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmorey Lodge

Address: 50 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £66 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmorey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation situated 1 mile from Chester City Centre. Our non smoking establishment offers comfortable affordable accommodation within our well appointed spacious en-suite rooms. Each room has the benefit of tea/coffee facilities, TV, radio alarm clock and hairdryer. Free parking, CCTV and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kilmorey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmorey Hotel Chester
Kilmorey Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing