We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chester Charm”
Review of Kilmorey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilmorey Lodge
Ranked #31 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Mike Holman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chester Charm”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I frequently visit Chester and have stayed in quite a few Hotels and B&Bs there, but I reckon that this will be my first choice from now on. The owners were very friendly and keen to ensure that I was comfortably settled in. Quite unprompted Jo even offered me a choice of rooms in case I might be disturbed by a pre-races party (I wasn't, but the sincerity of the gesture was very much appreciated).

My room was compact but very reasonably priced and the breakfast was spot on. Plenty of choice and generous servings, which set me up perfectly for my journey to Ludlow. If you want somewhere in reasonable walking distance of the city centre and close to the station, where you will be treated as an honoured guest, Kilmorey Lodge will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermansahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    24
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
37
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having stayed in all sizes and types of Hotels & B&B's throughout the UK (and Europe) a single night business / pleasure late booking resulted in a stay at Kilmorey Lodge for which we couldn't recommend highly enough

as we were going to be late arriving due to a late business appointment, the owner couldnt do enough to help us by leaving our key in a secure place

the room was lovely, clean and modern as well as the en-suite with power shower and more than enough in the way of tea/coffee making facilities / refreshments

breakfast was excellent and again the family members we met were both professional and friendly

the only negative.. bin the wind chimes guys (especially on windy nights!).. we're light sleepers!!

apart from that...thank you for a great experience - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best B&B i've ever seen, if you happen to chester in a nobrainer, the room was very nice, clean. The eviroment was cozy and it made me feel home. The water in the shower was actually hot (other times i had freezing showers)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Filippo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilmoreylodge, Owner at Kilmorey Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your positive comments, our guests feedback is extremely important to us and we are delighted that you consider this one of the best Guest Houses you have stayed in. Hopefully you will stay with us again one day if you are visiting Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After spending the day at Chester Zoo, we arrived at Kilmorey Lodge. We were shown up to our room (7) by the welcoming hostess, and were delighted when we saw it. As we were a family of 3, we had the triple room in the eves. The room felt light and spacious, and the bathroom was clean and had a lovely deep bath, which I took full advantage of! There was plenty of tea, coffee and milk, plus biscuits and a large glass bottle of water.
The bed was slightly too soft for our liking, so we didn't sleep as well as we usually would, however that's just a personal preference.
Breakfast was good: very efficient and we were asked if there was anything more we wanted. We were brought extra orange juice which we requested. The breakfast was good quality and not at all greasy.
One thing that I was particularly impressed with was the quality of the information included in the folder in the bedroom; it was extremely informative and well-researched.
We would happily recommend and stay here again. We walked into Chester and back and found it only took us around 15 mins with a 6 year old in tow, so it is excellent value considering it's proximity to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A gorgeous period hotel, very spacious and tastefully decorated. Room 7 - in the attic - a triple room with en-suite bathroom (the bath is big, with a shower over). It was quiet (with the windows shut) even though it is situated at the front of the hotel, comfy beds with pillows and cushions to enjoy watching the television or reading. Tea, coffee and fresh bottled water available in the room. The bathroom has some lovely extras for the ladies ( facial wipes, cotton wool balls and buds) together with the usual bath / shower gels and soap. There is a basic hair dryer sufficient to just dry your hair. Parking for 3 cars, but able to park on the road. Main road location with easy drive into Chester. Great choice for breakfast, traditional English or continental style and dietary choices available just ask. Overall a pleasant two night stay and the children loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back and side would be quieter. However, if you keep the windows closed it is quiet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Today arrived home after four lovely nights at this B & B. It is spotlessly clean and Jo makes you very welcome. The breakfasts are all freshly cooked to order and there is a good selection. Jo got to know we ALWAYS had "the full English"!!!!! Ideally located for Chester, an easy 15 minute walk to the city centre and slightly less to the railway station. Off road parking too, which was a bonus! I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We did not experience any other room, other than ours, which was room three. It is located at the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulvi247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very happy with our two night stay at Kilmorey Lodge..spacious, clean and beautifully decorated room. Lovely big shower...breakfast fresh and staff very friendly and helpful. Guest house is on a main road so easy to find. Room to rear of property and very quiet

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmac191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#15 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Garth Guest House
Glen Garth Guest House
#46 of 79 in Chester
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#8 of 79 in Chester
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 79 in Chester
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowman Lodge
Bowman Lodge
#42 of 79 in Chester
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmorey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmorey Lodge

Property: Kilmorey Lodge
Address: 50 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmorey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation situated 1 mile from Chester City Centre. Our non smoking establishment offers comfortable affordable accommodation within our well appointed spacious en-suite rooms. Each room has the benefit of tea/coffee facilities, TV, radio alarm clock and hairdryer. Free parking, CCTV and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kilmorey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmorey Hotel Chester
Kilmorey Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing