We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chester Central
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 4 February 2014

stayed here on a business trip as thought it was a good location and central for what I had planned. Room was dusty and bed sheets and cover covered in holes. Dirty bin in the bathroom. only good thing was the size and comfort of the bed even if the bedding didn't look to good.
Staff ok but didn't seem very interested when after waiting over 5 minuets at reception I asked for extra towel ...and extra coffee as only one of each had been supplied.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchester-toffeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are sorry to learn of your disappointing stay at our Chester Central hotel manchester-toffeeman. We want our customers to have an enjoyable stay with us so it is regrettable to learn that the standards have fallen below our expectations. Our rooms should always be clean and we also expect our linen to be in a great condition. We also expect our staff to be engaging at all times and we’d like to be able to raise your concerns with our hotel management and investigate further for you. Please can you select the contact us button on our website to provide your booking details and please be sure to indicate that you have contacted us via TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 2 friends when going for a night out in Chester.

It was centrally located and there is an NCP car park 5 mins walk away. The room was a decent size and the bedding was clean. The single bed wasn't very robust. It was like a foldable guest bed with a mattress on and the duvet was very thin.

The bathroom was a decent size although considering there were 3 of us, not many towels had been provided. I'm sure if we'd have asked, more would have been provided.

Due to its central location, it is quite noisy outside, but it did quieten down. There seemed to be an air con system in the room, which was very noisy during the night! We couldn't figure out how to switch it off, or if you could switch it off!

There is a bar next door which serves food and we were able to get a cooked breakfast there, although you could buy a continental type breakfast at reception.

We only saw staff on arriving and leaving, but they were very pleasant and friendly.

I'm not sure for £85 that it was worth the money. I think in hindsight I'd have rather have paid a bit more, and stayed at the premier inn. It did serve its purpose however, and there were no major issues.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jodie_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very convenient location. Close to shops, restaurants and amphitheatre. Staff very helpful and friendly. The new King size bed very comfortable but the single beds were not as comfortable as the old style bed settee. Really good value

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Check in was very pleasant and hassle free. The room was very, very clean, especially the bathroom and shower area. The hotel it self is in a fantastic position, with being literally 3 minutes away from the River Dee and the city centre is also very easily accessible too. Overall, very neat room with crisp, clean sheets and an excellent locality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is about a one minute walk to the famous clock in Chester City Centre and you cannot get much closer than that!
The hotel was clean and relatively new. As you would expect from such a hotel, the facilities are quite basic (the price reflects this) but what do you expect?
Very close to restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Would I use the hotel again? You Bet!

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A very standard Travelodge. Room was clean. The location for the city centre is perfect. Would stay again at a sale/bargain price but would not pay any more than that. No car park but the out of city park & ride service is efficient & good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatfamilysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We Booked a STANDARD DOUBLE room for nye...But we got a DISABLED...TWIN! Most disappointed. When we complained we got told "you'd already checked in" the young lady found us another room, great we thought...the only problem was this room had people in it...half clothed people!!! After 45mins of embarrassment, stress and hassle I asked for a refund and had to book another hotel!....i'm still waiting travel lodge for a refund!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewisEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We are sorry to learn of your recent disappointment LewisEB. We are sorry that you were not allocated a double room as booked, whilst we appreciate you were disappointed with the accessible room however please be assured that the same facilities are provided in all of our rooms to ensure great nights sleep. We do not expect a customer to be given a key to another customer’s room; we do have specific procedures in place to prevent this from happening so it is regrettable to learn that you were given a room which was already occupied. We’d like to be able to contact you to investigate further so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#34 of 45 in Chester
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £45 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chester Central 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travel Lodge
Chester Travelodge
Travelodge Chester Central Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing