We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chester Central
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Really nice stay - very impressed by room decor - calm, fresh and welcoming. Also very comfy pillows and bed. Centrally located for easy access to shops. My room overlooked the ruins of the Roman amphitheatre which was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank BeckyBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this hotel last week.

We were greeted on reception by a very friendly, professional young man named Steven. He went out of his way to ensure we had a good stay.

The bed unfortunately, was too firm for us but this always happens at Travelodges and many other hotels we have stayed in.

The room was a bit on the small size for a double but there was a spectacular view overlooking the Ampitheatre opposite.

The location was excellent - within 10 minutes or so walk of the main shops and appoximately 5 minutes walk from a restaurant.

The weather was not very kind to us so we couldn't do many of the things we wanted but I would recommend this Travelodge to anyone thinking of a very good value break in Chester.

We didn't hear any noise whatsoever from outside the hotel on either night.

The air conditioning was very efficient.

Full marks must go to Steven. He made our stay all the more enjoyable. Thank You.

Room Tip: Some of the front facing rooms offer excellent views of the Ampitheatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBER24121993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Reception was tiny, room wasn't ready until 3:15pm even though check out is 10am and check in is 3pm which I feel is plenty of time to make the room ready when there's hardly any other guests in the whole hotel but this is no big issue. Room was small but it served it's purpose for a one night stay. Comfortable, warm and the outside of the hotel looked stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambiebambix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I recently spent two nights at this Travelodge and it is unfortunate that it is situated above a pub and opposite a nightclub. The nightclub does not shut until 3am. My first night I was in a room right opposite the nightclub and got about 3 hours sleep. I did complain and the staff were very good and I got moved to the floor above and at the front of the hotel. It was much better I have to say. I do think that the hotel should make people aware of the situation of the club and pub and then visitors can make an informed decision as to whether they stay at there. Apart from that my stay was fine, the staff were friendly and helpful and moved me to another room. The hotel is in a great location and only a 3 minute walk to the heart of Chester.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Purplehazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We chose this hotel purely down to price, it was the cheapest. Good central location, rooms are not glamorous however you get what you pay for. Basic and it served a purpose, no complaints. No noise either considering how close you are to the road.....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank MazJTKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This Travelodge was very basic but right in the centre of Chester. Rooms could do with at least one chair - had to sit on the bed - and I had to go out and buy shower gel as there was only one measly bar of soap in the bathroom. The nearest car park was £20 per night but if you can manage your luggage you could park in Park & Ride for free and get the bus in. Free Wi-Fi would be good but just went to the pub next door if I needed the internet. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Huge room, very well sound proofed, air conditioning, comfy bed and pillows, spotlessly clean and unlike previous reviews absolutely no bad odour in either the corridors or the room. Great value for money and couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank RachG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#33 of 45 in Chester
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £45 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chester Central 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travel Lodge
Chester Travelodge
Travelodge Chester Central Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing