We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chester Central
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted everything is within easy walking distance and you do not have to walk far to get a good meal or a drink plus the shops are literally minutes away from the hotel.
This would be a great base for Chester races or just for a short break enjoying Chester and the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here on a Thursday & Friday night recently as we were attending a concert. You cannot say too much about Travel Lodges as they are excellent value for money, clean and have everything you need for a short stay. This one has clearly had a recent refurbishment and looks very good for the price.

The staff were very friendly and our check in was speedy and efficient as ever. As with a lot of town centre Travel Lodges there’s no car park but you can park In the Grosvenor Shopping Centre overnight which is only a five minute walk away. There’s no bar or restaurant but an option of a “breakfast in a bag” although I cannot comment on that as we ate out for breakfast as there’s plenty of places nearby. In addition there’s a nice bar next door (Pitcher & Piano or Pitch & Putt as my partner referred to it after a drink !) and lots of choice nearby. Although the town centre traffic passes by it was quiet inside so no complaints there.

Then there’s a but … and this didn’t spoil our stay as it’s excellent value for money but there always seems to be little niggles that could be easily sorted. The shower leaked all over the floor and kept the bathroom floor wet for the whole of our stay. Not because the shower curtain didn’t do it’s job or we diverted the shower hear wrongly but ¾ of the sealant was missing on the back wall where the plastic strip was supposed to make a neat seal onto the shower tray – this caused the water to run down the back, under the tray and drip out at both ends of the try. There’s no shower mat / towel so you had to step over the pool. My other gripe was the toilet seat was very loose and just needed tightening up. It’s frustrating as these two jobs would only take 5 minutes and must surely be picked up by the cleaning team ?? Our room wasn’t cleaned our towels replaced etc. on the second day but as we always make the bed and keep it tidy it was no problem but not sure if it should have been.

For the record we were in room 204 but I would reiterate this did not spoil our stay at all and maybe just niggled me as a keen DIYer !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigSamsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best Travelodges out there. Excellent location in the centre not too noisy. Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff polite and speedy check in. Excellent value. Would return here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank pkonline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Visited Chester spent 4 lovely days staying in Chester Central.Staff were great,room clean,bright,comfy bed, loads hot water.,very close to shops, plenty of places to eat.parking facilities about 200 yds away.Great Anniversary break.would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week for a family do in Chester, it was lovely and clean beds are comfortable. I think it's been recently redone Staff I met where really friendly nothing to much for them. I will be visiting again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Travelodge Chester is in a great location, 2 minute walk to the town centre and 5 minutes to the River. Good clean hotel, great value for money. Rooms above Pitcher & Piano but didn't experience any noise during out 2 day stay. I would recommend hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank DonlarSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Really nice stay - very impressed by room decor - calm, fresh and welcoming. Also very comfy pillows and bed. Centrally located for easy access to shops. My room overlooked the ruins of the Roman amphitheatre which was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank BeckyBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#33 of 45 in Chester
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chester Central 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travel Lodge
Chester Travelodge
Travelodge Chester Central Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing