We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free car parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chester Central
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Chester
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“No free car parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel was in the centre of Chester, which was a nice location, the problem is there is very little parking in Chester. So I had to park in the NCP just around the corner. It was only when I mentioned this that the member of staff offered me a ticket that got 20% off the NCP car park. However the ticket didn't work in the NCP machine.
Otherwise the hotel was fine for a basic, cheap hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    182
    111
    50
    50
See reviews for
126
210
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel looks good from outside,and is just the same inside. Room on floor 1 next to the main road. Did not here the traffic nice view from window. Good bed spaciouse family room.No probs with shower if you take time to see how it works fairly simples really Railway Station 15min walk Bus station 5mins walk. Good local bus services. Right in city centre.Several eating places nearby including 3 Weatherspoons..Staff helpful. Only reccomendation I can give would I use it again YES. Booked again in September 14. Says it all.

Room Tip: Met all my needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Certainly one of the nicer Travelodges I've stayed in-great location-close to bars, restaurants and clubs, as well as the centre of Chester.
It has been recently refurbished to a high standard.
There was noone in reception when I arrived, but I pressed the pager button and someone came immediately.
Our room was large, light and airy.
I was pleased to find extra pillows were provided on the bed for both of us (I normally have to ask for more from reception).
The windows block out the outside noise of traffic, which is great.
Hand soap is now provided on a dispenser, as is shower gel, which is definitely an improvement for travelodge in general, as it used to be bar soap for hands (which I don't like) and no shower gel at all.
Towels provided are long enough to wrap around someone's whole body.
The bed was comfortable, and we had a great night's sleep.
Tea and coffee is provided.
Their new striped colour scheme and decor in the rooms is great.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dellygwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for two nights,bed clean carpet never was hoovered before stay and during stay.cleaners came in room while were in due to bad weather but bathroom just got a quick squirt of cleaning liquid and that was it.a lot of noise from people outside pitch and piano pub next to hotel.need double glazing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmid1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A standard Travelodge that has been improved with new beds throughout.
There is no parking, but a multistory car park is just across the road.
No breakfast room,(packed breakfast snacks available) but plenty of breakfast places nearby including next door.
For a place to lay your head at reasonable cost very close to the lovely old city it takes some beating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLake38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a well located Travelodge in the center of Chester. For me it is at a similar standard to other Travelodges. We had no issues during our stay.

Basic room to meet basic needs pretty much sums it up in regards to expectations :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaqueBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
342 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the night so we could be in the centre of Chester and not worry about driving home. It's located about 500 metres from the main street in the city centre. It's very well priced, clean and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are basic but it had everything we needed. We went out for breakfast the morning we checked out.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Property: Travelodge Chester Central
Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chester Central 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travelodge
Chester Travel Lodge
Travelodge Chester Central Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing