We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Were coming back!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derry Raghan Lodge

Derry Raghan Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derry Raghan Lodge
Ranked #71 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Were coming back!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Too many people expect way too much for what they pay. Me and a few friends stayed here a few months ago and really enjoyed our stay, staff friendly rooms were clean, really great rooms for young people to come back to after nights out because being out the way and n having to worry bout waking others up. never smelt smoke at all and were not smokers. Breakfast very enjoyable. the staff let us keep our bags there the next day aswel while we went out for the day which they didnt have to do. We will be going back as we thought it was good for money.

Room Tip: If going out on nights out ask for an outdoor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynSmocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    2
    9
    15
See reviews for
1
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Was pleasantly surprised at the standard of rooms bearing in mind the previous reviews. We were staying in the courtyard rooms which were very clean with crisp white sheets and comfortable bed. Rooms very spacious with flat screen tv and perfectly adequate bathroom. No complains whatsoever.

Room Tip: Perhaps previous reviews were for standard rooms so would definitely recommend courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail_doolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

booked a hotel online with travelrepublic, they called me moments later saying it was full but had this alternative. from outside this hotel looks ok, location is fine. Only need it as a place to sleep. However, the smell of stale smoke hit us as we walked through the door. My friend and i looked at each other in disbelief. We were greeted by a scruffy looking man, who really did not enjoy what he was doing. please ignore the excellent reviews, they have to be fake! you can hear everyone who goes to the toilet or has a shower. the room was large, bathroom was clean! the beds had little black bits in them, definitely had not been cleaned properly and the smell of smoke lingered in the sheets. terrible hotel, did not stay for breakfast as we wanted just to get out of there!

Room Tip: there probably isnt one! the good reviews on here are obviously fake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maktub8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Chester for a wedding and found accommodation really hard to find but found vacancies here now we know why!
We were met by a man who didn't look very clean he had greasy hair, dirty clothes, long dirty finger nails and not many teeth. The place smelled of stale smoke and generally unpleasant but we thought well were only going to sleep here and we'd decided we'd go elsewhere for breakfast the next day.
We decided to go to breakfast just to see what we were served and as I cut my sausage a big hair was wrapped around it!
Please don't stay here it was horrid

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Nice 1st impressions from outside!!!! But once inside met with vile smell and very unkempt man. Had the beech room in the courtyard, cleanish but pillows stank of sweaty heads! Vile! Couple of stains on quilt cover. Yuk! Thought we might be able to chance breakfast if we knew for definite that the unkempt man had no role in making it. But saw him in the morning with a chefs apron on so decided to give the breakfast a very wide berth!!!!!! Will not return and do not recommend !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rooby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night, the tobacco smell is off putting but the room was clean but in need of updating (bed sheet, decor furniture ), breakfast was ok. If the smoke smell was sorted and the bedrooms updated, it would be a great improvement. Try the Chinese down the road amazing food

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vipergas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

met at reception by an unkempt man, the whole place stank of stale smoke, even the towels in the room smelt of stale smoke!! wont be going there again!!

Room Tip: dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Bowman Lodge
Bowman Lodge
#38 of 81 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#13 of 81 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derry Raghan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derry Raghan Lodge

Property: Derry Raghan Lodge
Address: 54 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Derry Raghan Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing