We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal apart from the drinks.”
Review of Bowman Lodge

Bowman Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bowman Lodge
Ranked #39 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here overnight during a weekend in Chester to celebrate an important wedding anniversary. The location, room, quietness, breakfast and attentive hosts were all perfect. Yes, the rooms may appear a little tired, but that would not be a criticism. Our only criticism were the drinks - tea and coffee. It was lovely to have drinks and a kettle provided in the room, as we thought that it would be perfect to have a drink of good old northern tea after many hours walking. In fact the coffee did not taste like coffee and the tea unlike tea. We thought it was the UHT milk that had slightly gone off. However, at breakfast, which could not be bettered - endless toast, a full English breakfast leaving us likewise - full, in a great way - but the tea was very weak and the coffee again unlike coffee. If this was remedied, it would be the perfect place to stay in every way. We would go back, but take our own sachets! Chester is fascinating and being so compact can be covered easily in the day. It is worth looking at all the blue plaques dotted around, which are really informative. There were flowers everywhere and the weather was so perfect that it made everything else seem even better. Altogether a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: We had room 7 that was spacious, comfortable & quiet, even being on the main road. A basin in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

I paid a return visit to chester in june and once again stayed at Bowman Lodge. As before I received a very warm welcome from Mike and Jayne for whom nothing is too much too trouble and who looked after me so well. I stayed in a different room this time and like the one I stayed in before, it was immaculate. Breakfast was appetising and filling. I spent a wonderful few days in Chester and at Bowman Lodge and hope that it is not too long before I can return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorothySouthampton_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Our family recently stayed in this guest house and found the owner to be very friendly and helpful. The family room was clean and the breakfast was brilliant. Certainly good value for money and we would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prestgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My husband and I spent a delightful few days at Bowman Lodge, where we found the owners, Mike & Jayne to be most charming and helpful. The rooms were absolutely spotless and the breakfasts delicious. We will be returning soon as we have to attend a family wedding in the area and we are really looking forward to our return stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorothySouthampton_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Service was fantastic, they can not do enough for making your stay more welcoming and definately stay again,

Thank you again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorimmer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Decided to get away for a few days on the spur of the moment..We chose Bowman Lodge (from a list of many) on its photos, reviews and above all price. We were not dissappointed this is a 3 star b+b and our room was clean, tidy and comfy and breakfast was atreat! But the best of all were our hosts they are warm friendly and above all genuine. We had a lovely few days exploring the beautiful historic city of Chester and even had good weather! Will definitely recommend by the Bowman Lodge and Chester to my friends

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My friend and i stayed at the Bowman whilst on a shopping trip to Chester, and for the cost of the accomodation couldnt find fault. It was clean and comfortable and had a really nice breakfast included in the price. The owners where very friendly and helpful. Chester is a lovely city only wish we had more time there. The Bowman is located in the suburb of Hoole which in itself is lovely with plenty of shops,pubs and places to eat. and only a short walk to the city.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank 187069Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#26 of 76 in Chester
150 reviews
0 mi away
Cheltenham Lodge
Cheltenham Lodge
#23 of 76 in Chester
220 reviews
0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#37 of 76 in Chester
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman Lodge

Address: 52 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowman Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Bowman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowman Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing