We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super spot and hosts”
Review of Bowman Lodge

Bowman Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bowman Lodge
Ranked #40 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well located and excellent value for money.
Extremely friendly and helpful hosts who added value to my experience in Chester and area.
A lovely old Victorian character home with good amenities.
A very enjoyable 5 days stay while viewing The Open.
Very good value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank dajeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Bowman Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Bowman Lodge is located between the A56 and Chester city centre, on a road with a lot of BnB. It is a very nice place, my only two comments are that the parking is tiny (but cars can be left on the side of the road) and I have had some trouble getting the shower to work (you need to pull very hard on a rope to get the electric shower switched on).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This place is an absolute gem. Before I left home I rang to say I would be late checking in - the very polite owners ensured me this wasn't a problem and they kindly left a key out for me.
On arrival the place felt very homely and cosy. Although not modern decor it was totally functional and didn't affect my experience. The bed was extremely comfortable and complementary tea coffee provided as expected.
Breakfast was cooked to perfection and it was obvious that good quality ingredients were used.
Overall I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely return if I come to Chester again. Well recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ten minute walk from the railway station, Bowman Lodge is located on a busy main road in a pleasant residential area. My room was clean and functional. The bathroom was for my use only but it was across a hallway. The proprietor was friendly and breakfast was available if required. Bowman Lodge is a good value B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the second time my wife and I have visited Bowman Lodge and this time our room was bigger than the room we had last time and we were even more impressed.
When we arrived we were greeted at the door by Mike the owner who showed us to our room even though we were rather early. As the room was not quite ready we put our bags in and walked into Chester city centre which is only a 20 minute walk away at the most.
The breakfast was as lovely as it was last time we were there and was between 8.30am and 9.30am so not too early which was great.
The room was lovely and clean and we parked our car in the carpark right outside.
We will definitely be returning again next time on our once a year trip to Chester.

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely. Top of the house, lots of stairs but a decent size and lovely and clean.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a brilliant find. Very reasonable rates. Both owners were very friendly and helpful. Short walk into town. Information on restaurants and taxis made available in rooms. Rooms were really nice. Comfortable bed and lovely shower. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you. Simon & Rachel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RagM325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Me and the wife spent 2 nights here
, we arrived early and was able to check in straight away. The owner told us all about Chester and where was good to eat and drink. We were on the bottom floor of the lodge our room was basic with en suite and tea and coffee making facilities and was clean. This place is a little hidden gem , we had leisurely walks into Chester which is about 15-20 away (depending on how quick you walk) and enjoyed every minute of our stay here. We will definitely be booking to go back to bowman lodge on our next visit to Chester .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank DOZ1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#17 of 78 in Chester
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmorey Lodge
Kilmorey Lodge
#34 of 78 in Chester
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cheltenham Lodge
Cheltenham Lodge
#24 of 78 in Chester
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#38 of 78 in Chester
96 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trafford Hall
Trafford Hall
#1 of 1 in Wimbolds Trafford
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman Lodge

Address: 52 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowman Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowman Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing