We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angelic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly House Guest House
Ranked #45 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at this lovely relaxing place and was offered the annexe situated to the rear of the house and what a treat that was. The customer service was great and the homemade scones were a treat. It's a shame we missed breakfast but we'd most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LloydB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed only one night with Mercedes and had to rush back home. Wish we could have stayed longer. Conveniently placed to walk into chester and the local shops are fascinating!
Room was very nice with some lovely touches, and the coffee on arrival most welcome.
Breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janeymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_House_Chester, Manager at Holly House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

We say thank you very much for the words of appreciation. These comments make us to be devoted heart and soul to this grateful work. Every day, we meet interesting, nice and kind people. They give us enthusiasm for the day. We are very thankful to all of our guests who has been helped us to promote Holly House Guest House and supported us to run this guest house at a high standard. We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards, Mercedes & Balazs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We were short time in Chester but liked very much this atmosphere. The guest house was very frindley and clean. Staff was very greatful helpful and breakfast delicious and hertly. Special thanks Mercedes and Balazs because are doing excellent job. We will back again in the next year longest time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpan680902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed here at short notice and booked the Annexe which is separate from the main property. this had a double bed and a single bed in a separate room. arrived 9pm ish and was still warmly welcomed. breakfast was great and the service very good throughout my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a shopping trip; the guest house is close to the city centre (20 mins walking slowly) right on the bus route if you don't want to walk in. Mercedes and her partner only took over 2 months ago but are doing a very good job; friendly and helpful without being intrusive, eager to please. the room was comfy and food good. there is a good Chinese restaurant across the road and handy convenience store round the corner. ideal base for exploring the area, parking available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The couple that run the guest house give such a warm and friendly welcome. From stepping into the bedroom we were very well taken care of, welcome with tea and freshly made scones.
Breakfast was very intimate and the food was refreshing, made with love it seems and tasty.
I have told a few friends and we will be revisiting this little guest house to explore Chester again.

Top points for friendliness!!!

Room Tip: Just book in advance especially bank holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Excellent service very clean room with tea, scones and the best smile ever from Mercedes to greet us. We were in the annexe, a converted garage that was really well furnished if a little unusual in layout. Breakfast was good but a little overcooked

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
4.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
57 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Guest House

Address: 1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £62 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holly House Guest House, an award winning guest house located in Chester. This 1850's house has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished, and is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac within a short walk to Chester City Centre, and close to all visitor attractions. Chester has to offer, ie Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly House Guest House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing