We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Shenley Lodge

Shenley Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shenley Lodge
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As the title says it is just ok.
It is a nice place with nice people but not a full hotel and as such we were disapointed.
Nothing much to it and for the same price plenty of good 4 stars hotel around.
Would I use again? Probably not.
Just ok sometimes is not enough.
sorry

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spring1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have recently stayed here for two nights. The location is great for day trips out. The welcome from the hosts was great. Very friendly and helpful. Even offered to drop us into Chester if we had wanted to. Care given to making your stay as good as can be. The bed was wonderful, easily the most comfortable I have ever slept in. No backache. If people prefer a faceless sterile environment then this place is not for them. If you want friendly, helpful service with an emphasis on comfort then this is the place for you. An added bonus was the fact that we were told if we wanted to have a takeaway or reheat food we could use the dining room downstairs with plates and cutlery plus a microwave. A nice touch as eating out every evening can be expensive. Particularly when you have toured the country staying in b & b' s as we have done this year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank west-yorkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We turned up without notice and were made welcome from the start. Once checked in, Angela offered either a pot of coffee or fresh milk for the tea making facilities in the room. She also kindly took our fresh produce bought in Wales that day to refrigerate overnight.

Room was a good size. Bed was comfortable. Iron and ironing board facilities were offered when requested.
On heading into the city centre for the evening we were waiting at the bus stop when Kevin went past and offered us a lift to our destination!
Breakfast was good and we were sent off with a friendly goodbye.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vazon0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Thankyou Anjela for sorting out our stay at short notice!

We were made to feel at home and the rooms weer very clean and tidy and the breakfast was very good, after our night at Chester Rocks!

Thanks and will certainly recommend you to others visiting Chester!

Thanks

Andy and crew!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabbiddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed for six nights. Lovely, spacious, well-furnished room with only one problem. The bathroom was tiny. However that was more than cancelled out by the excellent breakfasts and the kindness and warmth shown by the owners, Angela and Kevin. Just 15 minutes walk to the City centre and a bus stop virtually outside the place. Excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in staying there again and in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Our room was No. 3. Perhaps another room would have a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsoonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I only stopped for one night but found the hotel very good value for the money. The service and quality of room was on a par with hotels at twice the price. Angela and Kevin are very friendly hosts and add to the whole enjoyable experience. The breakfast was very good. It’s a 10/15 minute walk into the town centre or a taxi from Chester town to or from the Hotel was a very reasonable fixed rate of £3.50. I would certainly stop again. Nigel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hi, stayed at Shenley lodge for one night and was welcomed by the hotel's owner with a very warm welcome, was shown to my room which was very nice and clean and had an en-suite bathroom.

Breakfast was served from 0730 onwards and was nice with plenty of choice of cereal etc.

There is a nice Chinese restaurant just up the road if you are hungry and is only 10 minute walk from the station.

Would stay there again.

John Coles
Portsmouth

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#21 of 45 in Chester
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#41 of 45 in Chester
204 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,583 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenley Lodge

Address: 6 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £72 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Shenley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenley Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing