We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of Shenley Lodge

Shenley Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shenley Lodge
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I do a lot of research before I choose a place to stay, for with my work I travel the country a great deal and I want and need a decent value for money place to put my head at night and wake up refreshed and a good hearty breakfast to face the day. Here is one of those quite rare places that ticks all the boxes, just come and stay and sample the hospitality and all that goes with it. I enjoyed every minute and would not hesitate to bring my wife and stay when we visit Chester in the future. Excellent well done Angela. A bit of research does work ! !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    19
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
36
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Helens, Lancs
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night only over the weekend to visit Chester.
We walked into town and it took about 15 mins at a leisurely pace and we got a taxi back which only took a couple of minutes.
The rooms were very clean and equipped with everything we needed and even somethings we didn't need and the bed was dead comfy!
Breakfast was very nice and plentiful and obviously freshly with high quality ingredients.
Lastly a big thanks to the owners who were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed to know.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSt_Helens_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had the good fortune to stay at Shenley for a few weeks in September & I can say that it was by far the best decision I made during my stay in the UK. Having done anonymous Travelodges and other hotels throughout, it was great to be welcomed into a home rather than a sterile room. My room was on the top floor & contained a very comfortable bed & private bath as well as a TV, DVD player and hot water pot for tea or coffee. It is only a short half mile or so to town for sightseeing, but there are also restaurants and stores much closer to the Lodge. I was staying in Chester for 11 days & Shenley's location allowed me to easily explore everything Chester has to offer, yet still have a quiet place to end the day. Even though there were no vacancies when I arrived I had no problems with noise from other guests & slept very well. Breakfast was one of the best times of day. Angela produced a full English Breakfast: eggs, sausage, bacon, beans & tomatoes. There were also a variety of cereals and juice available. It was a great way to fuel up for a day of sightseeing in town.

I cannot speak highly enough about the kindness of Angela and Kev. I needed to pass back through Chester on my return & Angela was kind enough to find a room for me, even though she and Kev had been out of town for their anniversary. There is no doubt that I will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-B_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As the title says it is just ok.
It is a nice place with nice people but not a full hotel and as such we were disapointed.
Nothing much to it and for the same price plenty of good 4 stars hotel around.
Would I use again? Probably not.
Just ok sometimes is not enough.
sorry

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spring1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have recently stayed here for two nights. The location is great for day trips out. The welcome from the hosts was great. Very friendly and helpful. Even offered to drop us into Chester if we had wanted to. Care given to making your stay as good as can be. The bed was wonderful, easily the most comfortable I have ever slept in. No backache. If people prefer a faceless sterile environment then this place is not for them. If you want friendly, helpful service with an emphasis on comfort then this is the place for you. An added bonus was the fact that we were told if we wanted to have a takeaway or reheat food we could use the dining room downstairs with plates and cutlery plus a microwave. A nice touch as eating out every evening can be expensive. Particularly when you have toured the country staying in b & b' s as we have done this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank west-yorkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We turned up without notice and were made welcome from the start. Once checked in, Angela offered either a pot of coffee or fresh milk for the tea making facilities in the room. She also kindly took our fresh produce bought in Wales that day to refrigerate overnight.

Room was a good size. Bed was comfortable. Iron and ironing board facilities were offered when requested.
On heading into the city centre for the evening we were waiting at the bus stop when Kevin went past and offered us a lift to our destination!
Breakfast was good and we were sent off with a friendly goodbye.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vazon0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Thankyou Anjela for sorting out our stay at short notice!

We were made to feel at home and the rooms weer very clean and tidy and the breakfast was very good, after our night at Chester Rocks!

Thanks and will certainly recommend you to others visiting Chester!

Thanks

Andy and crew!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbiddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenley Lodge

Property: Shenley Lodge
Address: 6 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Shenley Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing