We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Shenley Lodge

Shenley Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shenley Lodge
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for one night while we visited the zoo. We were made very welcome with a a lovely coffee on arrival from Angela. The room was very nice, spacious and clean and the breakfast was excellant. Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I did alot of research into B&B's in Chester as we were planning a short breakaway with our 10 month old daughter, as soon as we saw the reviews for Shenley Lodge we knew it was the place for us. Upon arrival we were incredibly warmly greeted by Angela who showed us to our room and put up a travel cot for our daughter. Our room was absolutely huge and had everything we could possibly need. I needed some scissors and Kev saw that we got what we needed right away and also gave us a few tips on where to eat in Chester and where to park. We went out for a meal in the evening and when we returned our baby was sick all over our huge bed, Angela was fantastic and immediately came to change the bedding and also took our clothes and other personal belongings our daughter had been sick on and washed and dried them for us, She showed alot of concern for our daughter and really made us feel at ease. In the morning one of the first things Angela asked us (before asking about our breakfast order) was how our daughter was and did she need anything, she even offered us her own family meals to give to our daughter which was very much appreciated. Our breakfast order was taken and our food arrived quickly and was absolutely delicious, Every time Angela entered the dining room she spoke to our daughter and even got her a special 7 dwarfs toast rack to look at which our daughter absolutely loved. As we were leaving we bumped into Kev who also took great concern over our daughter and was keen to make sure she was feeling better which was lovely. Angela and Kev are the nicest kindest people in the world and absolutely nothing is too much trouble, We would most definitely go back in a heartbeat and we sad to be leaving to come home. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and hope to go back in the not too distant future, next time hopefully for longer (if they have us and our sicky baby haha). Thank you for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I do a lot of research before I choose a place to stay, for with my work I travel the country a great deal and I want and need a decent value for money place to put my head at night and wake up refreshed and a good hearty breakfast to face the day. Here is one of those quite rare places that ticks all the boxes, just come and stay and sample the hospitality and all that goes with it. I enjoyed every minute and would not hesitate to bring my wife and stay when we visit Chester in the future. Excellent well done Angela. A bit of research does work ! !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blackpool065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night only over the weekend to visit Chester.
We walked into town and it took about 15 mins at a leisurely pace and we got a taxi back which only took a couple of minutes.
The rooms were very clean and equipped with everything we needed and even somethings we didn't need and the bed was dead comfy!
Breakfast was very nice and plentiful and obviously freshly with high quality ingredients.
Lastly a big thanks to the owners who were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed to know.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSt_Helens_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had the good fortune to stay at Shenley for a few weeks in September & I can say that it was by far the best decision I made during my stay in the UK. Having done anonymous Travelodges and other hotels throughout, it was great to be welcomed into a home rather than a sterile room. My room was on the top floor & contained a very comfortable bed & private bath as well as a TV, DVD player and hot water pot for tea or coffee. It is only a short half mile or so to town for sightseeing, but there are also restaurants and stores much closer to the Lodge. I was staying in Chester for 11 days & Shenley's location allowed me to easily explore everything Chester has to offer, yet still have a quiet place to end the day. Even though there were no vacancies when I arrived I had no problems with noise from other guests & slept very well. Breakfast was one of the best times of day. Angela produced a full English Breakfast: eggs, sausage, bacon, beans & tomatoes. There were also a variety of cereals and juice available. It was a great way to fuel up for a day of sightseeing in town.

I cannot speak highly enough about the kindness of Angela and Kev. I needed to pass back through Chester on my return & Angela was kind enough to find a room for me, even though she and Kev had been out of town for their anniversary. There is no doubt that I will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H-B_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As the title says it is just ok.
It is a nice place with nice people but not a full hotel and as such we were disapointed.
Nothing much to it and for the same price plenty of good 4 stars hotel around.
Would I use again? Probably not.
Just ok sometimes is not enough.
sorry

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spring1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have recently stayed here for two nights. The location is great for day trips out. The welcome from the hosts was great. Very friendly and helpful. Even offered to drop us into Chester if we had wanted to. Care given to making your stay as good as can be. The bed was wonderful, easily the most comfortable I have ever slept in. No backache. If people prefer a faceless sterile environment then this place is not for them. If you want friendly, helpful service with an emphasis on comfort then this is the place for you. An added bonus was the fact that we were told if we wanted to have a takeaway or reheat food we could use the dining room downstairs with plates and cutlery plus a microwave. A nice touch as eating out every evening can be expensive. Particularly when you have toured the country staying in b & b' s as we have done this year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank west-yorkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 45 in Chester
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#41 of 45 in Chester
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#23 of 45 in Chester
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenley Lodge

Address: 6 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Shenley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenley Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing