We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”
Review of The Red House - CLOSED

The Red House
Price range: US$13 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boasting stunning views over the River Dee from the glass-concealed dining room, Et Alia at The Red House offers a sophisticated Mediterranean menu with international accents. A state of the art restaurant in Chester, cutting-edge design throughout includes terraced decking pods, Andrew Muirhead leather furnishings, and cool LED mood lighting. Et Alia at The Red House is a fashionable local favourite for a refined 3-course meal, elegant lunches, and stunning Bar.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely setting but not impressed with the food or service at all, when we ordered we were told they didn't have any left of what we had chosen and this was at 5pm, and £12.50 for a small breast of chicken that is served on its own with absolutely nothing else! Extremely over priced and poor service overall

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    58
    33
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!! The best!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I give the five stars because it is the best restaurant in Chester and everyone visiting or living in the city should try it at least once!

Yes you have eaten better Italian food - although the starters and salads (try the Caesars) are great.

Yes you have been treated better- we have had some ok experiences at the beginning but as we go there regularly staff is always improving!

But prices are rather low I'd say for this setting. And what a setting! You can pay more for places hidden without any view and similar food. The only glass two floor rear overlooking the river whilst sitting between olive trees is just amazing! Sunny or cloudy day does not make a difference in this place. And if you choose to sit in the garden close to the water, kids and yourself will love it!

So the overall experience is five tripadvisor stars again and again and again!

Helpful?
Thank EM_nosotros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A must visit if in Chester”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited Chester for a night and wanted a restaurant with a view and what a view.
A very contemporary design with stunning views over the River Dee.it has got to rank as one of the best restaurant views we have seen. The building is a traditional pub building from the front but spectacular glass at the rear. All the tables have views.
The food is Italian and lives up to the view.
We had scallops and fish cake starts and pasta for mains. Very good and would recommend.
What's even better the price was very reasonable.
A must to go if you either live in or visiting Chester.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Red H, Manager at The Red House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Holly

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Et Alia at The Red House, glad you had a great time!

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Thanks

Et Alia at The Red House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good but..........”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We came for lunch and could not fault the service. I had carbonara that was beautifully presented and was very tasty. My husband daughter both had the calazone which my daughter hardly ate my husband ate most of his but due to the size of it the contents were not that hot, The pizza garlic bread was nice but had too much olive oil drizzled over it and spare ribs were very boney and not very much meat. We were asked for feedback on why my daughter hadnt eaten her food she had said it tasted funny and smelt awful as it was the same as my husbands dont really know what she was going on about but thats teenagers for you!

The setting is lovely the building is bight and clean. The waiter was great very friendly

Had been here before when it was the red house and food was faultless then.

Will defo try again and i will defo have carbonara again it was good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janenevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Red H, Manager at The Red House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Jane

Thanks for getting in touch about your experience at Et Alia at The Red House. Thanks for your rating and we’re delighted you loved the carbonara (it’s one of our favourites too!).

Apologies your daughter wasn’t keen on her meal. As parents of teenagers we can sympathise and hope when you next return that she will enjoy her meal. Thanks for your comments about the ribs and pizza. We shall pass those onto the kitchen team.

See you again soon at Et Alia at The Red House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great View, Nice food.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited the red house for a mid-week meal; we did not have a reservation but were seated quickly as it was not too busy. We were served drinks promptly and given time to research the menu before making a choice, both the pasta and Pizza mains came out quickly and were well presented and so tasty. The view from the restaurant overlooking the river and the gardens below are spectacular and worth the visit alone however I would certainly indulge in the in the food as it is very good. The only thing I would say is that it is a tad on the pricey side. Give it ago and see what you think!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdfdr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Red H, Manager at The Red House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks so much for your comments about your visit to Et Alia at The Red House.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks

Et Alia at The Red House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red House also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing