We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh nosh”

Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #20 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor, has held a Michelin star for nineteen years running ��� surely a record outside of London. Under the direction of Executive Chef Simon Radley the exceptional modern British menu changes seasonally and uses only the finest ingredients. The cellar is also renowned, having one thousand bins and a sommelier of prodigious knowledge. The dining room itself is as dashing as you would expect with comfy chairs, oriental carpets, fine woods, original artwork, ebony pillars and many-layered tones of gold and taupe. The service is distinguished by its warmth and professionalism. Top marks.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Posh nosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We ate at this restaurant ,because we were staying at the hotel it was in ,and it was described as being a worth wile visit.
Service was very good,staff very friendly and polite,plate removed and drinks topped up at just the right time,not rushed at all.
Food was very,very good , since we tried some things we had not eaten before,and every dish was explained.
Overall a very good experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    61
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Celebrating a 60th in style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We dined and stayed at The Grosvenor for a 60th celebration and the meal we had was fantastic.

We chose the tasting menu with accompanying wine flight which was brilliant. The meal began with a lovely amuse bouche and bread selection - the red wine and walnut bread was a personal favorite.

This was then followed by a variety of flavorful and beautifully presented courses with well matched wines, each one presented and described by the waiting staff and sommelier.

A wonderful evening, thoroughly enjoyed by all. Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yards1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Michelin star quality dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We reserved a table at the Simon Radley restaurant within the Chester Grosvenor hotel. It was the first time that we had dined there, although we had enjoyed outstanding lunches within the dining area behind the main bar previously. The food was delicious, supported by an excellent wine list. This is the first Michelin star restaurant that I have experienced. Although I have nothing directly to compare this with at this level, nevertheless in our judgement, this was special and up to a prestigious high standard. An unexpected delight was the fresh bread selection on offer at the start of the meal. This restaurant has it's own bakery team who prepare special flavoured breads to compliment the menu. These were outstanding. Another highlight was the cheese board to finish the dinner. I have never before seen so many cheeses on offer at a restaurant.

The staff were very knowledgable regarding the menu, breads and cheeses offering helpful advice during selection. Nothing was too much trouble. Coffee was served with some delightful chocolates in the comfortable adjacent sitting area.

All in all, we were delighted to enjoy this high end dining experience at a Michelin star level for the first time. This is however an expensive dining experience in comparison to other excellent restaurant options in Chester. So, if you want the Michelin star experience, you need to be prepared to pay for it. Enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You can eat a lot better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Its OK but the price is painful. In a 1 star in London you can eat a lot better, the food is good but the wine is rather marked up. There are lots of better places for food in Chester but its an old hotel so there is a feeling of luxury. Trading on past glories I am afraid, Years ago it was the Arkle and the food and atmosphere was far better, same chef by name but a different experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 84805PeterS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not a Michelin star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have dined at a number of 1 and 2 star Michelin restaurants in this country and indeed around the world. This, unfortunately is not one of them and I'm surprised that it has retained its status. The food was good, not daring and certainly not worthy of a star. Apart from one or two elements on the tasting menu - it was bland at this standard. Nothing blew us away.

The waiting staff were pleasant enough, but again, not trained to a Michelin star status. One waitress wore pungent perfume - not great to smell each time she served our table.

The sommelier was pretty arrogant in the bar area whilst providing wine advice. I felt he was impatient at our natural indecision in choosing from the wide selection. He showed very little interest in our choice and lacked any sincere conversation expected at a high-end establishment.

The decor is very 90s, dark gentleman's club feel. Not one that encourages you to look around and wonder at what you're seeing. Stuffy.

Sorry - really wanted to love it - it was my birthday too. Have to be honest though.

Oh -one other thing - they slapped a £20 service charge for the dinner onto our room bill that we only saw the next morning. They should have mentioned this, but there was no notice or mention of it (a bit shabby I feel), just an assumption that we'd pay. As there was no formal request for feedback made at the restaurant/hotel re guest experience and we were not notified in advance of this - I did not pay. I may have had I been told and had I been asked for feedback.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank tywitops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing