We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st stay at premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This was our first stay at a Premier Inn, we stayed for two nights.
We always have stayed at a travelodge in the past, but this Premier Inn has ruined that !
We have now had lovely stays at the premier inn's at Whitehaven and Glasgow.
We have also booked Birmingham, Salford, St. Helens and Manchester over the next couple of months.
We now love Premier Inn's ,they are clean, comfy and have friendly helpful staff .
So, sorry Travelodge but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karent33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,286 - 2,292 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

If you want somewhere close to town that is clean, comfortable and excellent value then this is the place for you. Large, well furnished rooms, tea and coffee making tray, basically everything you need at a fantastic price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerberajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

From the moment I arrived the staff were helpful and upbeat. The hotel is modern and spotlessly clean. The restaurant service was helpful and attentive and the food was good. The young man on reception was outstanding in both his efficiency and personable nature. Well done Premier Inn, you got this one right.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aeneas_and_Dido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Good points:
Large room. Big, comfortable bed. No street noise (even on first floor). Really pleasant cheerful check-in girl. Freeview on tv in room. Ideally located between station and city centre. Easy to control shower, with consistent temperature. Good value for money

Bad points:
No shaver socket in bathroom. No real ales in bar. Breakfast whilst mid-range priced is over double what you pay in nearby Wetherspoon. £2 charge if you pay by credit card (though this can be avoided with debit card.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepastures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2011

Thanks for your review, we are pleased that overall our hotel met your expectations and your stay with us was comfortable. Following customer preference from feedback and surveys, shaver sockets are not available in all Premier Inn hotels however, adaptors are usually available from reception. Thanks for your feedback regarding the drinks available and the breakfast that is offered, please be assured your comments will be duly followed up by our Food and Beverage Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I have never stayed in a Premier Inn before, and wasn't really expecting much better than a hostel , but was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were brilliant - we arrived before our rooms were ready, but this was not a problem as they stored all our luggage for us, and there were over twenty of us, while we went Christmas shopping. The staff were patient, courteous and helpful.
The rooms were a pleasant surprise - clean, spacious and basically comfortable. No frills, but what do you expect for the price? I slept well and had a perfectly decent breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Booked my room during the post Christmas sale, so snagged an absolute bargain at £19. For that price, the hotel is excellent value, but if i was paying nearer the market rate I'd probably be less forgiving about the lack of character and soulless "laminated" Whitbread Group feel (laminated tables, laminated menus etc etc etc).

Check-in and check-out was excellent, the full refund promise of the Premier Inn "good night's sleep guarantee" obviously inspiring the team to make sure everything was ok. My corridor smelt heavily of cigarette smoke but the room was perfectly clean, only a lingering smell of mould from one of the drains.

The windows facing City Road are locked by default (and those with faux-balconies outside now have spikes all over them) but I can't work out whether this is because the yoof of Chester have previously attempted to break in or whether it makes it easier to avoid paying out on the "good night's sleep guarantee" when you can't really hear the noise of the traffic or people smoking outside the adjacent pubs and restaurants.

I didn't sample the restaurant or bar, but slept well and appreciated the five minute walk to the railway station. Excellent location when passing through but if you're making a weekend in Chester I'd recommend you treat yourself to somewhere with more character and more individuality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Thanks for your review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your feedback as it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their time stay with Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed with Premier a few months ago, at Rhuddlan. wonderful staff, restaurant,breakfast,and v happy with room. Read the Trip Adv. reviews about Chester and was happy to book 2 rooms. One for hubby, daughter and myself, other for elder son and girlfriend. His door opened from the outside and couldnt be locked, our 2nd key had a crack all the way down it and our table was broken. Immed went back to reception to be advised if you just lift up the door and replace back on the hinges it will prob lock !!!! I said NO to which maintenance were called to fix, our broken card was replaced, broken table wasnt touched. We returned from shopping at 6pm and door was mended. The evening staff reception/bar/restuarant were very pleasant. We were awoken at 11.30pm by another family next door, although the laughing and shouting stopped after an hour. The rest of the night were spend listening to the LOUD humming of the air con fans situated on the roof ( we were on the top floor ) Breakfast was the biggest disappointment, we arrived for 9.00am and nearly all tables full ( extremely small area). At the last Premier, our cooked breakfast was made to order and we were asked if we would like porridge. It was like a cattle market, no where near enough staff to manage efficiently. We waited for fresh juice to be replaced, waited for bread, waited for eggs, waited for bacon, waited for napkins, waited for butter and the plates were scalding hot !!! I queued for 11 minutes for my cooked breakfast. The staff were pleasant but too busy, many other guests had to wait for tables but there were 4 tables left uncleared for a good 15 mins. All in one this place replicated a cheap, budget, bogstandard get what you pay for ! very unlikely to stay at this particular Premier again

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2011

We are disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and on receipt of your booking detail will be fully investigated. Thanks for your review we hope to welcome your back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing