We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed here for a Saturday night in March '11. Got there earlyish so managed to park outside the hotel, the train station isnt far away and there is a car park near it so is an option for parking as well. Check in was easy and straight forward, first time stopped in a Premier Inn, the room was plenty big enough, super kingsize bed, could have fit four in! Comfortable bed, though i never sleep well when away but not really to do with the bed. Room was clean,, small amount of storage space but you dont need much for a night or two.

Not overly noisy when we were there,always here someone clattering in wherever you stay.

The bar area was clean and welcoming, good service. The breakfast next morning is what you tend to expect in these places, chaos but organised x

Location is excellent, a 5 minute stroll to the town centre, Chester is great city for shoppping, and socialising. Some nice places to eat and drink.

Definitely worth staying here at the right price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    717
    191
    49
    27
See reviews for
398
1,080
71
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights & was made most welcome by all the staff. Room very clean & airy, comfortable tidy rooms. Would recommend anyone to stay, just 1 thing to change the parking situation then it would be ten out of ten...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tezzanotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

This was our first stay in a Premier Inn and were pleasantly surprised especially given the bargain price we achieved for a 2 night stay. We managed to get a deal (under £90 for a family of three of us for 2 nights) for a family room which although small was perfect for us.

The lack of parking at the hotel (although a token 12-spaces are technically available) was no real problem as there was a public car park with reasonable rates less than 5 minutes away behind the main station.

Positioned on the second floor, our room (214) was clean and comfortable but suffered from a bit of noise through a terribly badly-insulated window and also suffered from noise from other residents - a nightmare for any hotelier but the insulation between rooms/floors wasn't great but if you're a heavy sleeper it's no problem!

Great breakfast and amazing selection of food which offered everything we wanted. Hot chocolate was also available much to the delight of our daughter although with some fine chocolate muffins!

Chester is a wonderful location with a fine selection of shops and some wonderful restaurants. We eat at two fine local restaurants; Oddfellows (quirky and unusual setting with imaginative menu) and Upstairs at the Grill (some of the best Steak we have ever eaten!) - both of which are highly recommended - using the money we saved on our accommodation to spend on food!!!

Overall thumbs up for our first Premier Inn experience and a perfect location for a stroll down the the River or into Chester for a spot of shopping.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CME_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

The hotel itself was fine. All standard Premier Inn stuff.
We had a very bad night sleep on a Sunday night as our room faced the main street and a pub across the road was still very loud and keeping me up at 2am.
Was better the Monday night as pub was quiet.
There is no parking (only a couple of spaces and they were always all full) and street parking is very difficult, therefore had to put the car at a nearby rail carpark. A bit annoying but not impossible to solve.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieFamilyAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night with my daughter and our friends and cannot fault it. Every aspect of this hotel was excellent. Every member of staff we met was polite and efficient and provided all the information we needed for our stay. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very quiet. I requested a twin room but was give a room with a double and single bed, which was fab. We had also booked a breakfast in the price and found this to be excellent. You could help yourself and eat as much as you wanted to. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HappyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Great location, Good room size, clean, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast. Parking underneath hotel for a small fee.

Room Tip: park in street overnight for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

very good, you can trust "good night guarantee"
room same as the advertise picture
near train station and city

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing