We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my wife on a Sunday evening. We'd previously visited Chester earlier in the year and had a fantastic stay at the Doubletree Hilton, but decided we wanted to stay in a more central location this time. The Premier Inn is in a great location, with a couple of bars bang across road, and a number of restaurants in the vicinity. We also really enjoyed it in 'The Chester Hangman' pub just down the road. Overall its about a 5 minute walk directly into the city centre.

The service provided by the hotel was very good - the lady on check in was extremely helpful and friendly and we were allowed to check in slightly early too as our room was available. We also were lucky enough to get one of the parking spaces (£6 for the night). Whilst the car park is small, it is easy to get to/around and secure. The room was very clean, and even though we had a room on the front, there was virtually no noise heard during our stay. OK, it may be different at a weekend, but for us, it was great. An extremely comfortable bed too.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will definitely be back some time this year. We love Chester, and this hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    757
    206
    56
    35
See reviews for
420
1,146
72
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

A pretty standard Premier Inn in terms of decor and amenities. Slightly smaller room than average, some signs of wear on the carpet and scuffs on the wall (but nothing which detracted from the stay). Decent breakfast, excellent service from all staff. Recommended parking is some way away (as you'll be lucky to get on the Hotel's private car park). Good location for the City Centre. Would stay again if looking for budget hotel in Chester.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loukki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very happy with our two night stay here. Easy to find near train station. Usual warm Premier Inn welcome and staff were helpful with local info. It`s a few minutes walk either into town or through the park and down to the riverside. Alternatively there is a leaisurely stroll alongside the canal which runs almost past the hotel.
Parking is quite limited and £6pn. We were lucky enough to get one. Otherwise it`s the train station down the road.
The Old Harkers almost next to the hotel is a lovely converted canalside warehouse, now a pub but is very expensive. Would recommend the `Spitting Feathers` brewery tap or Albion in town for good local beers and food instead.
Chester well worth a couple of nights and we`d stay here again if returning. Little bit of noise at night but nothing much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopHat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at the Chester Premier Inn for one night as we were attending a wedding at another hotel down the road. It was a cheaper option than the hotel where the wedding was and is in easy walking distance from both the station and town centre.

The girl who checked us in was very chatty, our room was clean and looked like it had been refurbished relatively recently and when we had a couple of problems - key-card didn't work and we needed to borrow an iron - they were sorted out efficiently. Because we were going to a wedding we spent very little time in the hotel, but I did notice that Premier Inn now have Freeview - so more channels if you do need to spend time in the room - and for a city centre hotel on a Saturday night there was very little noise from other guests post midnight.

Only minor gripe was the bed - it was two singles attached rather than a double, which are never quite as comfortable in my opinion (bet Lenny Henry has never collapsed on one fo them), but it wasn't like it kept me awake all night. Oh, and the annoying soap dispenser in on the wall in the shower (bang some part of my anatomy on it every time I stay in a Premier Inn) wouldn't dispense soap, not because it was empty but because there was a split in the nozzle at the top of the plastic bottle inside it. Made me wonder if its a common problem or just a one off?

Didn't have the breakfast the following morning because of the price - if you don't want to pay the £7.99 there's a Wetherspoons less than 5 mins away - and in typical post-Saturday night-out style we checked out at 11.59am. Again, if we're booking a leisure break we always look for 12noon check-outs rather than 11am, not that we drink :)

All in all, if you're after a modern, budget hotel in Chester with good access to the station and city centre, the Premier Inn ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank All-Fur-Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs, england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We chose to stay here after reading the reviews we had read on trip adviser.
The location was ideal. It was a couple of minutes walk from the train station and only took a few minutes to get into chester city centre.
The staff were all very friendly. We arrived a few hours early and couldn't check in but the hotel will allow you to store your luggage whilst you go off into town.
Just be aware there isnt a lot of parking spaces which we heard people complaining about, we travelled by train alot less hassle than trying to drive around chester on all those one way roads.
We would definately stay here again. very good value for money.

Room Tip: they are happy to move rooms if you are not happy with the one allocated. my wife doesnt like height...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I stayed here from the 11th-15th of July and it was one of the best hotels i have stayed in. Amazing food, friendly staff and very clean. i would reccommend anyone staying in Chester to stay at this hotel. it is right in the center of the city and its excellent value for money. Me and my partner have already booked up to go back in 7 weeks time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watfor
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Very impressed with the cleanliness and helpfull staff. Considering number of rooms and how busy it was room was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippo050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing