We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Having stayed in Premier Inn hotels before, I am a fan of the decent standards at all of their hotels. The Chester City Centre hotel was excellent, and seemed very clean and modern. Our family room was very clean and airy. The beds were comfortable and of a high quality considering Premier Inn is a budget chain. The bathroom was also spotless, however there was a slight unpleasant odour in the bathroom on arrival (I have also experienced this at other Premier Inn hotels, so I think it may be some of the cleaning materials used.)

I did have a problem somewhat with the public internet-access PC's. These are provided by an external company. I entered my debit card details in order to pay for browsing time; my debit card was charged but unfortunately no credit was made available for me to use. I reported this to reception straight away and they phoned the company for me, and they agreed to investigate on the hotel's behalf. While the hotel staff could do no more, they were extremely apologetic, helpful and professional at all times.

Overall, an excellent hotel to stay at in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    753
    202
    53
    30
See reviews for
417
1,130
71
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just returned from a weekend here with two more couples and my wife, and just thought I had to say how I felt about this hotel, the weekend was a boozy one but we found the hotel exceptional the breakfast I would highly recommend the staff were excellent and attentive especially the lady who worked on the bar in the night who put up with our drunken jibber jabber will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel was literally 5 minutes from the city centre and there is parking (but not much) in a small underground car park on a first come first served basis. The staff were very friendly, the room as expected - very clean, practical and fine for our purposes. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gselliott
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just returned from a night in the Chester city centre Premier Inn and I have to say it was excellent!
The staff were very friendly and helpfull and service was also good.
The rooms were as you would expect from a Premier Inn - basic but comfy with everything we needed for a good nights sleep, room was very clean and everything was in good order. Breakfast time was very busy due to school hols but only waited a couple of mins for table, food was good with plenty to choose from both hot and cold.
This is a great hotel to choose for visiting Chester as city centre is a couple of mind walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gselliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed for three nights with my wife (Wifes birthday present). The Inn is situated in an ideal location. About 5 mins from the town and from the train station. Ten minutes from the zoo, cheshire oaks designer outlet and the Blue planet aquarium. The only down side is the parking, 12 spaces provided under the Inn. I had to park in the train station car park which added £16.50 (£5.50 per 24 hour stay) onto the cost of my stay.
If anyone is going to the zoo I suggest buying the tickets in advance from reception, they were cheaper than going to the zoo.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here for a weekend away with friends. Located a very short distance from the railway station which was great for those of us arriving by train. The parking is not so convenient as there is no parking at the hotel (the website says 12 bays, but I didn't see them). The on-street parking is free, and usable from 6pm-8am, then 1 hour maximum stay during the day (except Sunday). There are two local car parks (one on each side of the station) at £5.50/24 hours, so it all worked out fine.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, lovely bed. And as stated, the location is great, on route to the city centre from the rail station and therefore handy for both. There are a number of restaurants and bars in close proximity of the hotel. I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment although the bar area and restaurant looked fine.

As mentioned in earlier reviews, the security is also good, need your room card to get access to the bedroom floors and also to get in the hotel after 11pm.

All in all, exactly what you expect for this brand, although this is one of the better Premier Inns I have been to. And the staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D6AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We went up to Chester from London by train and the Premier Inn is literally 5 minutes walk from the station with the City Centre and all the attractions another 5 minutes on from the hotel.

The room was very clean and comfortable - we had no noise problems even though there were a couple of hen parties staying. We arrived a bit early but our room was ready and they let us book in and when we booked out they let us leave our luggage until later in the day. The staff were friendly and helpful and very pleasant.
We paid £7.99 each for breakfast and it was really good value, the food was well cooked and the fruit was fresh and there was a good selection and the staff worked really hard keeping the tables cleared and then laid again and bringing fresh food out.

Just one very very minor point - they could leave a couple of extra tea bags in the room rather than just one each!

Room Tip: We were in 209 which was quiet - not sure if they put all the larger groups together in another part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlamGranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing