We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Chester for Xmas shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Friendly hotel staff, great breakfast, clean room.
Only downside is the walk to town involves the subway.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel away from City Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyWony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,098 - 2,104 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

Clean, comfortable, good location. 10 mins walk to town centre.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshiyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The proximity to the shops is fantastic. It is close to the station and also quite a few restaurants. The standard of service was not quite as good as we have previously experienced with Premier Inn and we had a few problems. The staff responded extremely well to the few issues we had and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This is an efficiently run outlet of the well known budget chain. It's not far from the city centre and railway station, with a good selection of restaurants and at least one good canalside pub nearby. The hotel is modern and has the usual premier inn layout, with an emphasis on a 'good nights's sleep' so bed, pillows etc are of good quality. Staff here were on the ball - reception, catering and cleaning suggesting a well managed operation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and myself have just stayed at the Premier Inn Chester for a weekend break. We had a very enjoyable weekend, the hotel is everything you would expect of a Premier Inn. Clean, Tidy, Modern and well presented. The staff were very friendly and approachable and keen to help. We had both breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant, the food was excellent on both occassions and good value for money. The hotel is based in the centre of Chester so is an ideal base from which to visit all the sights. The hotel was also good value for money compared with the prices of some of the other hotels in the area. Well done, Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQ064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the hotel and be assured your comments will be passed on to the teams in all departments - kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Booked this a while ago for two nights at £19 per night for a Christmas shopping trip. The room was clean, well decorated and had everything we needed. The bed was huge (2 singles pushed together) and extremely comfortable - in the words of Goldilocks, not too hard and not too soft! The only negative comment is that there was a lot of noise from the side road that we overlooked - the worse being on the Tuesday morning at 7:45 when lorries queued up and deliveries were being made, together with glass being continuously smashed. We mentioned this at check-out and were told that the noise was coming from a differently owned establishment and Premier Inns had no jurisdiction over what they did. We were in room 210 - ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel to avoid this problem.

I must comment upon the attitude of all the staff - the housekeeping staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Reception staff were efficient and polite, and kept their cool when a very rude client had booked a room at a different Premier Inn in Chester but more or less accused Premier Inns of them booking the wrong hotel - not her. They did everything they could to put matters right - but she stormed off without a thank you.

The staff in the restaurant were superb despite being exceptionally busy, although there was a slight problem with the bill as we were told we could have a complimentary coffee as our steak had been cooked well done instead of medium/rare. The waiter at breakfast was very good, I asked him for porridge and this was quickly brought to our table - goodness knows how he remembered where I was sitting as I mentioned it to him whilst he was unpacking some yoghurts!

The food in the restaurant was ok for the money. The breakfast was very good and we had the 'meal deal' menu which was acceptable with the puddings being yummy. Although the wine was not wonderful.

Even the maintenance staff were polite - opening and closing doors for us.

As others have mentioned, the walk is very short into town. However, it is best to use the underpass to avoid negotiating the busy road which can be a bit unnerving in the dark as there seem to be quite a few 'homeless' people begging in the vicinity. This could be worrying for some.

We managed to park our car in their underground car park with no problem - but we did arrive very early at 10:00am and then went off shopping until our room was ready at 2:00pm.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thanks to all the staff - you are a credit to your town and to Premier Inns.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the hotel where room 210 is located - very noisy early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medsec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you very much for the detailed and honest feedback relating to your experience with us at the hotel. It is only through receiving feedback of all types can we ensure all our guests are 100% satisfied with their experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future, thanks again
The team at Chester City Centre Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

You get what you pay for.

Clean room, comfey bed and it was quiet. Food in the pub next door was just about OK - as a working stay, it ticked the boxes - sleep and hot grub. Avoid the mash as it tasted like packet food. Pies - they need to cook the pastry.
Do try the roast chicken and the lamb shank.

Service - the staff are VERY helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £50 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing