We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly city centre Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Friendly city centre Premier Inn”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This Hotel offers the usual Premier Inn brand and more. With its city centre location and friendly, efficient staff it is definitely worth considering. Parking is limited (first come first served) and chargeable but a good rate for 24 hour city centre parking at £6 - they also allowed us to park a few hours prior to check in which was a bonus. Of course Chester is lovely - from the 'rows' to the river - and a must see if you've never been.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    757
    206
    56
    35
See reviews for
420
1,146
72
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The hotel was fine, good restaurent, rooms typical good Premier Inn and the location was great.
BUT they charged £15 per day for wifi which is a significant additional cost and I think is exorbitant.

Room Tip: Check the price of the wifi before booking at any Premier Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCanadiansMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to annouce that we are lauching a new pricing structure for wifi from 10th January 2012 and all Premier Inn's will offer the first 30mins free of charge & then £3 for 24hrs, £10 for 1 week or £20 for 1 month. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and check in was quick and hassle free. The hotel car park was full so we used the nearby train station car park, 5.50 for 24hrs, only a short walk away. Our room was clean and well equipped with kettle, tv etc. overall excellent value for money, great location, friendly and clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for two nights over Christmas. The hotel was lovely and quiet, the staff were brilliant and the location was perfect. Just a couple of min's walk into town. Room was smaller than some premier inn's I've stayed in but well equipped as usual but with a double shower instead of a bath. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm09NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnmoney, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed here for one night in November 2011, the final night of a break away in Chester. This hotel is literally half a minute's walk away from the train station, and a further 2 minutes' walk takes you right into Chester City Centre (approaching Eastgate Clock). What can I say, a fabulous value hotel. We got our room for £29 (Sunday night, room only). Had requested a quiet room and we got just that. An oh-so-quiet room in the central 'courtyard' area of the hotel. Lovely room, clean white bedlinen, heating controlled via wall vent, and lovely bright modern bathroom with BIG shower. The beds were so comfy, didn't wake at all during the night, and another nifty touch - you are able to order pizza from the hotel restaurant and have it in your room - dead handy if you don't fancy getting dressed up to go out and eat. Overall a very enjoyable night's stay. We would definitely go back. Receptionists were friendly and helpful, as were the cleaners. Corridors can only be accessed via guest key-card which is a good safe idea. With its proximity to both the city centre and train station, we could not believe the value for money which Chester City Centre Premier Inn offered!! We WILL be back!.. Chester is our favourite UK city!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet 'courtyard' room - guaranteed peace and quiet from the often noisy Chester s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayFairQueenBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Went for a weekend break. Parking spaces for only 12 cars and there is a charge which their web site does not state. We were lucky and arrived at 12 o'clock on the Friday and got the last space which is around the back of the hotel. There are public car parks in the area but we didn't see them. The hotel is very close to the centre, which is reached by a foot subway. At first we were worried about using this at night but everyone uses it and there are plenty of other people around.
Hotel was brilliant nothing was too much trouble, only given 2 teabags in the room so we asked for more and were given a handful. On the day of departure we were allowed to leave the car in the car park until 12 noon.
The city of Chester is quite quaint and compact. Great for Roman history and the wall was a delight to walk part way round.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyandSteve062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

this is a great location for city break only 10min walk to city centre. only 12 parking places at £6.50 per day. if you drive down to the rail station there is a NCP car park at £5.50 per 24hrs.
friendly bar with live music across from hotel. great bar and bistro called Ring O Bells approx 6 miles away great food if you are a foodie lover. stayed Dec 22/24

Room Tip: had room at back on second floor still noisey at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing