We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at this hotel. Like other reviewers we found this hotel to be good value. We stayed in room 17 overlooking the car park which was very quiet. Breakfast was well worth the money. The hotel was a short walk to the train station and a few minutes walk into town via a subway. We will stay at this hotel again.

The only criticism was on checking into the hotel, the price I had been quoted had risen by quite a large amount, luckily I had taken a copy of the original quotation with me. I know it wasn't the receptionists fault but her attitude wasn't very helpful and no apology was offered.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,044 - 2,050 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here last year. Perfect location really clean, huge comfy bed. We also got a bargain for £29 pound a night. Defiantly worth it. The only thing is there is very limited car parking spaces so we had to pay £10 and park at the train station which was quite a walk with our overnight bags.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jl779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The location is great if you arrive by train.Parking is very poor as you have to park at the train station (£5.50 charge for 24hrs) and is a five min walk away.Parking at the hotel is very limited and you will have to be lucky to obtain a space.The hotel charge £6.00 per night.There is parking outside the hotel but this is limited to 1hr and was advised by reception staff that traffic wardens are in abundance!.
The hotel is adequate for a budget hotel and we stayed for the weekend for a fantastic rate.Staff are friendly and helpful the children loved the easter eggs they received on arrival. However the room was cramped for a family with slightly older children, one of the childrens beds was what seemed to be a mattress on the floor. There was a few other problems with noise,the sheets on the double bed were torn and we were overcharged for dinner(although the food was excellent).Breakfast was good value with the children eating for free with a paying adult. We wish we could have opened the window rather than using the air con.The view was not fantastic as we were opposite a brick wall and windows that were very near.This hotel is a good base for short stays as it is within driving/walking distance of shopping center, chester zoo,chester oaks etc.Loved Chester but would use a different hotel if we return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 298AlisonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet all of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great location, walking distance of historic city centre. Clean,Comfortable well appointed rooms,Restaurant was better than we expected, with good service for a Gluten, dairy intolerance requirement. We ended up having dinner and really enjoyed this. Parking we were forewarned not to expect. Had to park down the road in a parking facility which was good enough and safe even when depositing late at night.All n' all I would definately recommend this place to stay for a medium priced hotel/motel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeawaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

parking was nonegsistant, so dont rely on it, make other arrangements.
A/C had to be on overnight, but is noisy.
won't be going back......
one star for its location.

Room Tip: dont bother, next time i go to chester I will stay elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A new hotel which lets itself down by having NO opening windows in any of the rooms, 12 parking spaces and the bare minimum of staff at the busiest of times. Great location for the station though.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Thankyou so much for a super night away, we have never left the children at home before but decided for 1 night they would be fine. The hotel staff are so friendly and welcoming and the room was just fantastic, everything you needed including towels. We decided to stay in for dinner and the food was just as good (we couldnt wait for breakfast) Thankyou so much for making our stay so welcoming we wil be coming back xx

Room Tip: our room was fantastic on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,733 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing