We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The central position of the hotel is ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Friendly staff at the reception, we got our room earlier as the cleaner had it ready. Following tips from previous visitors I asked for a room on the third floor. Good sleep at room 324 although a bit noisy from the boilers if you are a light sleeper like my partner; I didn't really mind.
Very close to city centre, shops and attractions.
The only disadvantage is the small car park. We arrived early, so we found a space. They charge £6 per day, which is not bad but it's also not cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 382Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 2,396 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just before Christmas 2013, we had a weekend away at the Premier Inn Chester city Centre. The bedrooms are all identical and to an excellent budget standard, with your good night's sleep guaranteed. Highly convenient for the centre and railway station. The Breakfast is fantastic and really sets you up for the day.
With excellent friendly staff, highly recommended and will most definitely be going again.

Room Tip: not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Premier inn, we had a weekend in Chester and stayed at the premier inn it was excellent. Staff very kind and helpful and we would definitely recommend this hotel. Only a sort walking distance to the shops.
Good breakfast.
Thank you to all.

Room Tip: They give you a good nights sleep and yes we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 607Rossygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for a night, midweek for £29! Great rate for location and we knew what to expect as we've been here before.
As it was midweek we were able to park at the hotel for £6 for the night, however if full there is a car park near the train station (a few minutes walk) for around the same price. The hotel staff will advise you of this if there parking is full.
The staff as usual were very welcoming and friendly and certainly make the stay more enjoyable. We took advantage of the wifi at £3 for 24 hours its a bargain price!
The rooms are more than basic and have everything to ensure a good nights sleep. Loved the choice of pillows (firm and soft) so we weren't lumbered with pillows that were uncomfortable.
My only qualm was that the mattress was too hard, now this is personal preference as I have a memory foam mattress and did wake up with a sore shoulder, this is in no way the hotels fault and wouldn't deter me from staying again its just my body and found the previous stay more comfortable, especially considering our room had a leaflet that most of the mattresses in the hotel had been changed.
We had a cosy nights sleep and great value for money at £29 we certainly weren't complaining. Another lovely stay at Premier Inn Chester City Centre! We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was my first visit to Chester and the location of the hotel could not have been better. It was nice not to have to use the car and just be able to walk in to town to enjoy the shops and the city buildings.
Hotel was very comfortable, and the staff friendly. The only downside was the parking, as there is very limited parking on site, but we managed to park on the road and at the station which was OK for the weekend.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back which overlooks the car park you get less noise from the street in front as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesMilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend in Chester (our first visit to the city), as we are looking for somewhere to live when I move up to start a new job in February. We stayed 2 nights in the Premier Inn City Centre. Even being a friday / Saturday night, the room was very quiet and we both got a good nights sleep. The lack of parking is a little frustrating, but we can look past this.
The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.
Overall a very good rating from us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from 7 enjoyable nights here. Room was on the top floor at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Hotel was well situated and an easy walk to centre of the city and railway station.
Chester is a very interesting and lovely city. We also enjoyed our trip to Liverpool with our saveaway rail ticket at £4.90. This included the ferry across the Mersey which is well worth doing.
A visit to Port Sunlight was another great day out. Here you can walk around the lovely town built for the workers by the Lever family (famous for their soap manufacturing) There is a museum and Art gallery there too.
We hope to return to this Premier Inn again as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lochnessmonster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing