We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good City Centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stopped at Chester on the way home from visiting a friend. We had been recommended the Premier Inn. We were not disappointed. We arrived early for check in but were allowed to park in the car park so we could have a look round the city. The car park it's self is small but very secure, as it is covered by CCTV which is constantly monitored from reception. This also means that reception staff know how much space there is. The reception staff were very helpful and genuinely seemed to be enjoying their jobs. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable, a choice of pillows is available although only one of each type so as we are used to sleeping with two each we used both. We were also very impressed at how quiet the hotel was, a difficult task to achieve in the middle of a busy city. Premier Inn certainly lived up to their good night's sleep guarantee. I have marked down slightly due to two points. The first is that the shower gel dispenser didn't work and the shower door was quite difficult to close from inside (both things housekeeping could easily miss). The second reason is that you only get half an hour free wifi before you have to pay and the signal was weak, we visit a lot of hotels and do tend to expect wifi to be free for the duration of the stay. That said this is a budget hotel chain and costs have to be kept down some how.
Overall a very enjoyable stay in a lovely city.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BlondeGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great bargain hotel, plain simple rooms but clean and with everything we needed. Booked 3 rooms for a group of 6, we were all located next to each other which was great, one couple had to move because the room stank of urine ???? They were moved immediately and with no issue, fab one night stay in a basic but clean and adequate hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed 1 night on the 16th February.Checking in was very good and the reception staff provided a map and directions to the city,it's attractions and shopping areas.We did not eat given the hotels locality so cannot say what food was like.The Hotel itself is set on a street with bars and restaurants on.It's also a two minute walk to Harkers a really nice real ale and food bar, on the Canalside with other food and drink establishments nearby.Would definitely use when in Chester again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dora12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having booked last minute for night away, having never stayed at a premier inn before we were pleasantly surprised. Hotel was clean, modern with comfortable rooms/beds. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was great and good value for money. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

stayed here 14th-16th feb 2014. rooms were lovely and warm,spotless, loved the kingsize bed.Big thank you to verity on reception on our checkout day very pleasent and helpful.would definetly stay there again, best place in chester to stay, convieient for town centre, shops,pubs

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and upon arrival the room stunk !!!! Whoever had stayed previously had been smoking in the bathroom with the smell spreading in the main area of the room.

I complained and was told they will full so I couldn't be moved but they would go and spray the room while we were out.

Came back to same smell so the "spraying" never happened. 2nd night just as bad which resulted in poor sleep filled with coughing throughout the night.

On this occassion the premier inn guaranteed good night sleep was not met and unlike advertised we were not refunded just got a "sorry about the smell".

The 1 star this review got was for the breakfast which is worth it.

All in all very let down (to the vale of £151) as always stay in Premier Inns when in the UK.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kodak747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was our first stay in a Premier Inn and having searched around for a hotel in the centre of Chester the Premier Inn offered best value for money. The car park situation is a common thread in most of these reviews though I have to say it wasn't an issue for us as we were travelling by train. What I must say however is we received a call from the Premier Inn about 5 days before we arrived just to make us aware of the car parking spaces and to see if we required any information. I thought this was a nice touch especially for a "budget" hotel.

For those arriving by train the hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk with luggage. It is very close close to the centre too. The reception staff were extremely helpful, allowing us to check in early as we had arrive before 2pm. They also gave us a map of Chester and gave us directions to the bus station to get to Cheshire Oaks.

We have stayed in quite a few different hotel chains and independent ones too, and I would definitely recommend staying at this Premier Inn in Chester. The room was clean, the bed comfy and there was a control for temperature, great if you hate stuffy rooms at night like me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_Green4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £47 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing