We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 minutes to town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a really good budget hotel, only 5 minutes walk from Chester city centre. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable and staff are lovely. Unfortunately the hot part of the buffet breakfast was not available when we stayed but they had waitress service instead so not a problem. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for you review we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Premier Inn in the centre of Chester. It was ideally situated for shops and restaurants. However there was limited parking on site so we had to park at Pepper Street car park which was about 15 minutes walk away at a cost of £12 00 per night compared to £6.00 on site which is fine if it is not raining.
The receptionist was welcoming and friendly and booked me in very quickly. We had a room backing on to the courtyard which was very quiet. There are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants for an evening meal. We chose to eat at Zizzi which was very nice plus we had a 30% voucher which was even better. Would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

thank you for you're feedback

We hope to see you again in the near future

Operations Manager

M Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Brill stay but dissapointed at the cost for such a short stay- 2 nights -£175; some people cant always book in advance . Also internet was a problem: connection problems and having to pay after the cost of staying was so high!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 25th Feb to spend a birthday night out in Chester. The hotel was very easy to find & is in a very central location.

The customer service was fabulous we arrived early & we were able to park in the hotel's car park & check in earlier than the stated 2pm. This made our overall stay much smoother & enabled us to make the most of our time in Chester.

The room was very clean & spacious, the only down side was it was far too hot during the night & we couldn't open the window. We did try turning the temp down but it made no difference it was still very warm.

We both enjoyed our breakfast which is fabulous value for money & again the service was excellent

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first stay at a Premier Inn and must say we were very impressed. All the staff were excellent, very pleasant and extremely helpful. We arrived early but there was a room available and also we were lucky to get a parking space in the very small car park. Our room was very comfortable and extremely clean as was the whole of the hotel. Food was good too. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant and also enjoyed a hearty breakfast. This was our first visit to Chester and this Premier Inn is ideally placed to see everything. All in all we had a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 34happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Located just 10 minutes stroll from main town. Very limited on-site parking (around 15 cars) - hotel recommends station car park - a few minutes away. Friendly staff.

Room clean. Bathroom clean with exception of grout which was grubby and bits of mould on shower seal. Soap dispenser by sink did not work as it should.

Old fit out and no plug at side of bed. Sound insulation not as per other Premier Inns - could clearly hear other guests talking as we walked down the corridor.

King size bed. Worst mattress I have ever encountered at the many Premier Inns I have stayed at. It was like what I imagine sleeping on a water mattress would be like. Every time my husband moved, so did I. Sleep quality was further affected by lack of noise insulation - could hear other guests using the bathroom (never encountered this at any other Premier Inn).

Breakfast was good and staff were again friendly as well as efficient.

Sorry Chester, you lose two stars for your dreadful mattress which meant sleep evaded me for much of the night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed overnight on Sunday 23rd feb in a family room. As expected the room was lovely and cannot fault the reception staff at all. Our room wasn't ready on arrival so we had to wait a short while. The complementary breakfast we had this morning more than made up for this hiccup. The young lady Magda in the restaurant was really nice and ensured we got everything we needed. We will be back again I've no doubt.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank browneyes05120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing