We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great all round”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I visited recently just for a night, I have never stayed in a premier inn before bit it well and truly surpassed my expectations.
As soon as we arrived we were checked in by a very friendly lady on reception who gave us a map and explained how to get to the city centre. I must explain all the staff we came across were so friendly and helpful , always smiling , top marks there.
We didn't eat in the hotel but I must say the offers they had going for evening meals and breakfast were most tempting.
The room was spotless and very adequate, I stayed in a Hilton hotel recently for around double the price and this room was just as good.
I don't think I will stay anywhere else from now on if visiting chester , I would recommend this hotel to anyone and it's just a few minutes stroll into the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyVManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    752
    202
    53
    30
See reviews for
417
1,129
71
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Premier Inn Chester City Centre on Friday 25th April, having attended a function in The Wirrall. The hotel was well located for visiting this historic city and, as usual with Premier Inns, the staff were extremely helpful, professional and knowledgeable, and ensured we made the most of our short stay. I would single out Jess in Reception for praise in this respect - always there, always friendly and courteous, and always going out of her way to help, no matter what the issue was. The room and bathroom were both clean and fresh, the room temperature was perfect for a good night's sleep (as was the comfortable bed), and it was nice and quiet, especially so as the room overlooked the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Got a great £29 deal for Easter Monday and we were very impressed. Location is spot on, rooms are spotless, staff friendly and the little things such as a hairdryer and shower gel dispensers really helped. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laeta_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed overnight at the premier inn in Chester city centre and could not fault anything. The staff couldn't do enough for us from the moment we got there till the time we left. We stayed there to celebrate my birthday and had an amazing and welcoming stay. We had the meal deal which includes a three course evening meal, a free drink and breakfast the next day for £22.95 which was lovely. Couldn't have had better. I even got a half bottle of champagne and a birthday card from the staff. When they brought out my cake they even sang happy birthday to me. Rooms were very nice too with a fantastic bathroom. Bed was lovely and I had a great night sleep. Would highly recommend this hotel to people wanting to stay in Chester. Thank you to all the staff for a brilliant stay. Will be back very soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

used this as a base for a short break to chester.

Its location is good for the station and its only a few mins walk to the city centre.

We had a room overlooking the inner courtyard so nose was not a problem.

Food in the thyme restaurant was to the usual standard and the staff were friendly.

Parking is a little bit awkward as the number of spaces is very limited if you cant get in then you have to park at the station.

I'd use this one again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondibongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed on a Friday night, good rates, great room. Very clean, comfortable, spacious bedroom. Clean bathroom, good hot shower. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast. We were lucky enough to be parked on site too. We didn't get the best nights sleep unfortunately due to noisy upstairs neighbours but when we explained we were refunded our room charge, without quibble as promised. The staff were helpful and friendly, among the best I have encountered in uk hotels. 10/10 Premier Inn Chester! I will definately choose Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for one night in April in family room & these are the reasons why it deserves 5 stars:
1, the car park was officially full but as a member of staff was due to go home not long after we arrived, we were allocated their space
2, our 19 months old daughter was ill & threw up all over place so it was reported to reception who were only too happy to change our room.
3. Our daughter was still ill at 3am with a high temperature & reception directed me to a 24 garage which luckily had some appropriate medicine. They even called me whilst I was there to check I could get back to the hotel ok
4. The on duty staff at breakfast were really friendly (1 chap in particular) & showed genuine concern to our daughters plight. I was even allowed to get some toast after the official end of breakfast when I went back to get something for my daughter
The location was perfect, the rooms were clean & the food was pretty good.
Overall, my wife & I would definitely go back & we are very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGTIPS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. We hope that you're daughter is feeling better, Thank you for your comments. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing