We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading Advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Misleading Advertising”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is clean and fairly comfortable, the location is very good for visiting the city. Food is well cooked and reasonably priced. There are no telephones in the rooms and credit cards are surcharged. The ATM is surcharged. Housekeeping is erratic, one day all they did was make the bed, while leaving the coffee cups from breakfast unwashed, yet the next day the room was thoroughly cleaned. Restaurant service was abysmally slow, a simple evening meal, from a limited menu, taking two and a half hours. Apparently this was because they busy, which doesn't really explain why it took 35 minutes to serve a bowl of ice cream.
My biggest complaint is the deceptive advertising. They claim to have a small car park on-site and state that further car parking is available at a nearby NCP car park. "Nearby" is 600 yards (I checked this distance on Google Maps). The on-site car park may exist, or it may be mythical. The "nearby" NCP car park is actually the railway station and Best Western joint car park, so when I went to look for an NCP car park I didn't find it. Therefore I had to park in the street the first night and get up early to move my car to the "nearby" car park. Which was full. I had to return twice more during the day to secure a space.
Now I realise that car parking in a city like Chester is never going to be easy, the Romans may have given us central heating, sanitation and roads, etc., but they didn't do car parks. If Premier Inns had been honest about the situation, I would simply have booked elsewhere, maybe in another Premier Inn, my previous high opinion of Premier Inns (apart from the no telephone thing) would have been untarnished. They would have missed this booking, but could have expected many more in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    765
    209
    57
    36
See reviews for
425
1,155
72
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent one night in the hotel, prior to going to the races the following day. The plus points are that it's clean, conveniently located and friendly. The negative is the parking! After much confusion and driving around, we finally found the NCP car park the staff recommended, which was pretty good value for 24 hours. Good place to stay for exploring Chester.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sockmonstersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2014 for a midweek overnight stay on one of the bargain rate rooms. With premier inn hotels you know what you will get, and we found the room was clean and well sized. We checked in earlier as we had arrived early but this was no problem for staff who were very polite and helpful. The hotel is in a good location, just a short stroll from the shops and restaurants and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamLucyLou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend, we were only visiting for somewhere to go over bank holiday. It is a lovely city, and wish were had stayed there for longer. There are some great pubs and restaurants nearby the hotel and only a 5 minute walk to the station. The staff were really friendly and helpful, even though the check in was not till 2, they let us leave our bags there so we would explore. Love the premier in vibe

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is best choice for staying visiting Chester location perfect, facilities excellent and the staff extremely professional.

Would highly recommend this hotel to all people travelling to the wonderful Chester will definetly be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MISSYGNewcastleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed a few times here and once again had a really good experience. Staff friendly and welcoming, check-in was hassle free and the room was very clean and comfortable.

It was a nice touch that we were contacted the day before advising us about the parking situation, but we were aware of it anyway+parked on the train station like our other visits so it really wasn't an issue.

We didn't experience any noise at all in the night and we all enjoyed a good night's sleep. Which is what Premier Inns are all about!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lidlleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here previously so knew parking could be an issue, we luckily got a space in the car park at £6 which is reasonable although it could be free. The WIFI could also be free, the room was small and lacked a full length mirror, or really somewhere to sit to do your make up. The mirror over the tea making facilities seemed wrongly placed. The air con wasn't working in our room and the windows didn't open - boiling ! The bed was a good size but too hard for me and the noise from outside the hotel from before 7 am was extremely loud. We didn't pay the extra for breakfast as I felt it was expensive. The hotel had very friendly and helpful staff and its location is very central. I did complain about the air con and the staff were superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing