We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$178
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$118
US$106
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oddfellows(Chester)
US$195
US$181
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$74
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,485)
Filter reviews
2,485 results
Traveller rating
1,320
832
233
62
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,320
832
233
62
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkmeal dealtrain stationthyme restaurantlimited parkingchester city centreshort walkexcellent locationair conon site parkingper daygood nights sleepnight's sleepreception staffbudget hotelbars and restaurantscomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,414 - 1,419 of 2,485 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed 18/05-19/05 for a midweek break.
The hotel is in an ideal location for the centre of the city, just a short stroll from the shops and restaurants.
Managed to get a space in the car-park underneath (arrived at mid-day) however it is small with room for around a dozen cars. Good value though at £6 per 24hours. It is accessed by Russell Street at the rear just off A51
The hotel appeared busy but this did not spoil the break or stay in any way.

The breakfast was good value and a decent variety, choices available.

A couple of groans though....outside noise
Stayed in room 302 at the rear over looking Russell St.
The vehicle & road noise outside at the rear; HGV delivery & refuse vehicles along with "audible reversing" alarms of the vehicles whilst on the street below woke us numerous times the night/early hours.
Russell St is a 'dead-end street' up to the canal at the end, so the vehicles, HGV's etc have to turn around or even reverse all the way out.

I assume this a problem at the hotel due to the new window units which were outside the our room doors, ready to be installed on our departure on Tuesday??

The bed in 302 was the hardest we've slept in at PI this year, having previously stopped at Manchester Piccadilly and Leeds Arena earlier this year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captain2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this Premier Inn on 18th May for a birthday overnighter in Chester. Having used Premier Inns many times with varying experiences I was pleased to find that the facilities here were excellent. There is a Thyme restaurant within the hotel, rather than the 'attached' dining that can sometimes be found. The room was as expected - Premier Inn standard clean, spacious room with a good en-suite shower room. The 'double' bed was amazing - extremely large and comfortable!

The car parking is a little tricky - there is a very small car park on the lower ground floor but you would be unlikely to get a space as it's first come first served. There is on-street parking at the front of the hotel and down the Main Street but this is only free between 6pm and 8am and all day Sunday. The train station car park is a 5-10 minute walk away, so drop off your luggage first if you are using this car park!

The staff were extremely helpful - the receptionist who greeted us (Kat) talked us through the best way to get the most out of our visit and directed us to some interesting sights and good pubs all within easy walking distance.

Overall this is an ideally located hotel for an overnight stay in Chester, although the car parking issues mean it's not quite a one-stop shop. We would definitely return though!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is clean and fairly comfortable, the location is very good for visiting the city. Food is well cooked and reasonably priced. There are no telephones in the rooms and credit cards are surcharged. The ATM is surcharged. Housekeeping is erratic, one day all they did was make the bed, while leaving the coffee cups from breakfast unwashed, yet the next day the room was thoroughly cleaned. Restaurant service was abysmally slow, a simple evening meal, from a limited menu, taking two and a half hours. Apparently this was because they busy, which doesn't really explain why it took 35 minutes to serve a bowl of ice cream.
My biggest complaint is the deceptive advertising. They claim to have a small car park on-site and state that further car parking is available at a nearby NCP car park. "Nearby" is 600 yards (I checked this distance on Google Maps). The on-site car park may exist, or it may be mythical. The "nearby" NCP car park is actually the railway station and Best Western joint car park, so when I went to look for an NCP car park I didn't find it. Therefore I had to park in the street the first night and get up early to move my car to the "nearby" car park. Which was full. I had to return twice more during the day to secure a space.
Now I realise that car parking in a city like Chester is never going to be easy, the Romans may have given us central heating, sanitation and roads, etc., but they didn't do car parks. If Premier Inns had been honest about the situation, I would simply have booked elsewhere, maybe in another Premier Inn, my previous high opinion of Premier Inns (apart from the no telephone thing) would have been untarnished. They would have missed this booking, but could have expected many more in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent one night in the hotel, prior to going to the races the following day. The plus points are that it's clean, conveniently located and friendly. The negative is the parking! After much confusion and driving around, we finally found the NCP car park the staff recommended, which was pretty good value for 24 hours. Good place to stay for exploring Chester.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sockmonstersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2014 for a midweek overnight stay on one of the bargain rate rooms. With premier inn hotels you know what you will get, and we found the room was clean and well sized. We checked in earlier as we had arrived early but this was no problem for staff who were very polite and helpful. The hotel is in a good location, just a short stroll from the shops and restaurants and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamLucyLou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, General Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews